This is the "African Collections" page of the "African Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Collections   Tags: africa  

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2012 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/AfricanCollections Print Guide RSS Updates
African Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Africa

 

Ashanti Yam Festival 1817

Mission from Cape Coast Castle to Ashantee Mission from Cape Coast Castle to Ashantee : with a statistical account of that kingdom, and geographical notices of other parts of the interior of Africa / by T. Edward Bowdich, esq., conductor. (Image: WikiMedia Commons: Public Domain)

Summary

The focus of this collection is:

  • sub-Saharan history and politics
  • works of literature by African writers
  • scholarly works in the areas of archaeology, anthropology, religion, history, politics, development, international relations, economics, and sociology

The collection of English language African materials began when the University was established in the mid 1960s.  The strength of the collection is post 1966 material, but some antiquarian and out of print titles have also been acquired.

The Library subscribes to a range of print and electronic journals with African interest, such as:

Those with a historical interest may wish to note:

The library also has strong holdings on South Africa, Angola, Ethopia, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rhodesia, Somalia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The acquisition of microfilm original materials and guides/lists of African government and other original records from late 19th and 20th century have significantly enhanced the Library's research capacity. Many of these were made available through a large donation from Dr David Dorward from the History Department. Other significant materials are dated 1825-1892, 1949-1956, and post-1966.

The collection of English language African materials began when the University was established in the mid 1960s.

 

Exploring the collection

 

Things fall apart / Chinua Achebe


Availability

Mainly Melbourne campus, and online

Access

Your valid student/staff card allows you to borrow from any campus library

Search

Suggested keywords are: "Africa", "Algeria", "Angola", "Benin", "Botswana", "Burkina Faso", "Burundi", "Cameroon", etc.

Dewey Decimal "call" numbers

  • 960 for African history
  • Af820 for African literature 
  • 320 for African politics & government
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip