Example - Searching for articles
ChinaIndiaIndonesiaJapan
This is the "Home" page of the "Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Asian Studies   Tags: asia, asian, asian_studies, china, india, indonesia, japan  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2014 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/AsianStudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Feature Database

A collection of nearly 10,000 Chinese academic journals across all subject areas.  Search by subject area by selecting your discipline -  eg iterature, politics, history, social sciences or education.

Where to start

Do you need to find journal articles?

Journal articles are a good source of current academic information for your essays.

Try the following Databases:

      Further databases can be found here.

        Need more information on searching for journal articles?


        ALSO - Try our new Library search

         

        This is a good starting point for your research. It searches across a wide range of publications including books, ebooks, journal articles and more with just one search. However as it is new, it does not search our entire list of databases. You will still need to perform a search in a database from our A-Z database list.

            
           

          New Titles

          Cover Art
          Aryan invasion myth : a threat to national integrity : Mughalastan, Dalitstan movements, ISI & terrorism in India - Paramesh Choudhury
          "Theory to establish that the political situation and terrorism in post-1947 India is attributed to Aryan invasion and prevailing caste system" - Google Books

          Cover Art
          Beyond the killing fields : war writings - Sydney Schanberg
          Contents: Cambodia, an unnecessary war -- The killing fields -- East pakistan fights to become independent Bangladesh -- Vietnam, 1972 -- Return to Cambodia: a military coup -- The cover-up of U.S. POWs left behind in Vietnam -- The Bush doctrine in Iraq.

          Cover Art
          Descent into chaos : how the war against Islamic extremism is being lost in Pakistan, Afghanistan and Central Asia - Ahmed Rashid
          " . . .Having reported from Central Asia for a quarter of a century, Ahmed Rashid shows clearly why the war in Iraq is just a sideshow to the main event. Rather, it is Pakistan, Afghanistan, and the five Central Asian states that make up the crisis zone, for it is here that terrorism and Islamic extremism are growing stronger." --BOOK JACKET.

          Cover Art
          Esoteric Buddhism at Dunhuang : rites and teachings for this life and beyond - edited by Matthew T. Kapstein, Sam van Schaik.
          "Drawing a wide variety of texts and images from Dunhuang, the six original contributions to this collection advance our understanding of the development of Esoteric Buddhism in late first millennium Tibet and China. Ritual, philosophy, and mortuary practice" - Google Books

          Cover Art
          Fractured rebellion : the Beijing Red Guard movement - Andrew G. Walder
          Contents 1. The Beijing Red Guards: An Introduction -- 2. The Assault on Power Structures: Work Teams in the Universities -- 3. The Genesis of Division: Sources of Opposition and Conflict -- 4. Divided at Birth: The University Red Guards -- 5. Class and Violence: The High-School Red Guards -- 6. Radicals with Patrons: The Rise of the Rebels -- 7. Dissent and Its Suppression: Challenging the Maoist Elite -- 8. Factions Reborn: Networks at Cross-Purposes -- 9. Endgame: Fighting Not to Lose -- 10. Hierarchy and Rebellion: Reflections on the Red Guards -- Beijing Red Guard Chronology -- Work-Team Case Histories.

          Cover Art
          How China's leaders think : the inside story of China's reform and what this means for the future - Robert Lawrence Kuhn.
          ". . . Kuhn examines China's 30-year struggle toward economic and social reform in How China's Leaders Think. With access to recently declassified Communist Party material, Kuhn provides an intimate look at China's leaders and leadership structure, visionary principles, and convulsive past, while tracing the nation's earliest reform efforts and its ongoing reforms in the media, military, banking, healthcare, film, the Internet, and science and technology" - catalogue.

          Cover Art
          Minoo Masani, 90 - [S.V. Raju, editor].
          Selection of speeches and writings of an Indian politician.

          Cover Art
          Nature's embrace : Japan's aging urbanites and new death rites - Satsuki Kawano
          Contents: The actors -- Historical perspectives -- The Grave-Free Promotion Society -- Scattering ceremonies -- The scattering of ashes and family relations.


          Cover Art
          Revenge of the forbidden city : the suppression of the Falungong in China, 1999-2005 - James W. Tong
          Contents: 1. Introduction -- 2. Preparing for the Crackdown -- 3. Law Enforcement Operations after the Crackdown -- 4. The Anti-Falungong News Media Campaign -- 5. Curing the Patient - Conversion Programs -- 6. Organizational Structure of the Anti-Falungong Campaign -- 7. Party Meetings Announcing the Ban -- 8. Evaluation of the Anti-Falungong Campaign -- 9. Concluding Remarks.



          Cover Art
          The joyful kingdom of Raj Anandpur - Desmond S. Matthews.
          On the Jesuit missions in Hazaribagh, Ranchi and Jamshedpur.

          Cover Art
          The West & the map of the world : a reappraisal of the past - Matthew Richardson
          "Inspired by antique maps and the mapmakers' global vision, this book presents the past as a single narrative in which European history is an offshoot of Asian history. The author explains that the dominating ethos of the modern West owes more to hordes of Asian nomads who colonised Europe than to the classical civilisation of the Greeks and Romans" - catalogue.


          Cover Art
          Working with nature against poverty : development, resources and the environment in eastern Indonesia - edited by Budy P. Resosudarmo and Frank Jotzo
          "This book had its origins in an international workshop on the theme 'Development and Environment in Eastern Indonesia: Papua, Maluku and East Nusa Tenggara.' The workshop was held at the Australian National University (ANU) in Canberra on 8 April 2006"


          Cover Art
          CP : a short biography of C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar - A. Raghu with an introduction by K. Radha
          Brief biography of Sir Chetpat Pattabhirama Ramaswami Aiyar, 1879-1966, minister in the erstwhile united state of Travancore and Cochin.

          Cover Art
          Fiasco in Nadwa as viewed by national press - compiled by Shariq Alavi.
          An account on the alleged attack on Nadvat al-‘Ulam¯a', Lucknow, an institution of Islamic thought by Delhi Police and officers of the Intelligence Bureau in early hours of November 22, 1994


          Cover Art
          The Indian Naval Revolt of 1946 - Percy S. Gourgey.
          Brief account of an event, sparked off by utterances of the British commanding officer of the Royal Indian Navy.







           

          Feedback

          Was this information helpful?

          How useful is this page?
          (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

          Additional comments:


          Your Email:


          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip