This is the "What is Endnote?" page of the "Endnote X7" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote X7   Tags: endnote  

This guide will show you how to create a new Endnote library, create references (manually and from databases), insert citations into Word documents, manage referencing styles, edit citations and back up/save your Library.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

What is Endnote? Print Page

Get Endnote X7

Endnote X7 is available to staff and students at La Trobe University. If you have a previous version of Endnote installed on your computer, you should first uninstall it before installing Endnote X7.


Get started

How to use this libguide

This libguide will guide you through the basics of Endnote, creating a library, adding records, managing your library and inserting citations and reference lists in Word documents. Click on the relevant tabs to learn more about each topic. Alternatively, you can watch the online tutorial 'Endnote in 50 minutes' here:


Introduction to Endnote

What is Endnote?


Endnote is a software tool for creating and managing references and bibliographies on the Windows and Mac desktops that can be used to:

  • Create in-text citations in Word documents
  • Create formated bibliographies or reference lists using a variety of referencing styles
  • Import references from bibliographic databases on the internet, including Google Scholar, specialised journals and databases and La Trobe's Library search
  • Sort and store references, images,PDFs and other files


How does Endnote work?


 The Endnote Library will be your storage file, where two types of information are stored: reference information (e.g. author, year, title,...) and PDFs and other files such as Word documents or images.

To create entries in your Library, you can either create them manually (by entering all relevant information manually) or import them from bibliographic databases (saves time as you won't have to type the information). Usually, we only create references manually if the source of information can't be found online and, thus, imported. However, remember to always check references that you've imported from bibliographic databases as they may contain mistakes or miss some relevant information.

Once you have created a Library file with references, you are ready to insert references in a Word document. Endnote allows you to insert in-text citations, which will be used to create a reference list at the end of the document. Endnote will format in-text citations and reference lists in the referencing style you've chosen.


Introduction to Endnote: what is Endnote and how it can be helpful?

This online tutorial shows you what Endnote it, how it can be helpful and what Endnote will and won't do.


Loading  Loading...