Archaeology JournalsWhy can't I just Google?
Australian ResourcesInternational ResourcesMailing Lists & Discussion GroupsOrganisations & Associations
This is the "Home" page of the "Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archaeology   Tags: archaeology  

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2013 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/archaeology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching the catalogue - where to start

Use the Catalogue TAB to find resources such as books, exam papers, specific journals and audio-visual items. Use the A-Z databases/Journals TAB to identify and locate individual articles in journals. Use the LibSearch TAB to perform a Google like search across ALL Library resources, including journal articles.

catalogue TAB

Keywords and descriptors - when searching catalogues and databases, be ready to use a wide range of terms, both general and precise, and in combinations. For example, if your topic is What is the purpose of higher education? Your keywords might be (higher education or tertiary education or university) and (purpose or goal or aim or objectives)

 

Reference Material

Use reference material to find definitions of unfamiliar terms, summaries of topics or as a starting point for information. The following are just some of the reference sources available in your area.

The concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology (online)

Dictionary of Artifacts (online)
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology (online)
Grove Art Online (online)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (online)
Encyclopaedia of historical archaeology Reference 930.1 E562

The world encyclopedia of archaeology: the world's most significant sites and cultural treasures      

Reference 930.103 W927       
Encyclopaedia of archaeology Reference 930.103 E562

Getting Started

Use these tools to search for resources:

  • Using the Catalogue tab
    Use the Catalogue tab to search for items located in your campus library, such as books, theses, DVDs and videos. The Catalogue tab will find journal titles, but does not search the databases for individual journal articles.
  • Using the Search tab
    Use the Search tab to search across all library resources at once. As well as finding books and other items from the library shelves, the Search tab will also search the databases for journal articles, reports, reviews and newspaper articles (optional).
  • Using the Journals tab
    Use the Journals tab to search or browse for a journal title.
  • Look up a definition in The Oxford Companion to Australian Politics

Contact Your Librarian

Profile Image
Rickie Morey
Contact Info
Faculty Librarian
Melbourne
Send Email
 

Reading lists

Items on reading lists are generally considered as 'high use'. These resources are often placed in the Reserve or Electronic Reserve collections to increase their availability.

Get an item on my reading list

 

 

Planning your essay

The Assignment Calculator

Put in the date your assignment is due and calculate.  You will get a step by step guide to what to do and when to have it completed. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip