Finding Articles on a TopicPrimary & Secondary Sources
This is the "
Background reading" page of the "Botany" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany  

Library Guide to Botany
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2015 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/botany Print Guide RSS Updates

Background reading Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

A useful starting point for your research are reference resources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks. These provide background reading, facts and figures and definitions of terminology.

 

Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - Atlas Staff; John Wiley and Sons Staff; Clavier; Wiley
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0470016175
Publication Date: 2005-10-14
Highly recommended for obtaining an overview of a topic. Each article in this encyclopedia includes a reference list of suggested further reading. It is a scholarly resource so it can be included in your assignment reference list.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of tropical plants : identification and cultivation of over 3000 tropical plants - Ahmed Fayaz
Call Number: Bundoora Reference 581.91303 E5648
ISBN: 9781742232904
Publication Date: 2011


Cover Art
RHS encyclopedia of plants and flowers - Christopher Brickell
Call Number: Bundoora General 635.903 R479
ISBN: 1405300574
Also available Albury-Wodonga Reference 635.903 ROY

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of plant and crop science - Robert M. Goodman
Call Number: Bundoora Reference 630.3 E562
ISBN: 0824709446

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity - Simon A. Levin
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780123847201
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Five volumes.

Cover Art
Botanica : the illustrated A-Z of over 10,000 garden plants - Graham Ross
Call Number: Bundoora AV (CD-ROM) 635.03 B748 1999
ISBN: 1740514629
Book available Bundoora Annexe Reference 635.03 B748 1999. Request this item from the Inquiry Desk.

 

Dictionaries & Handbooks

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences - Michael Allaby
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0199600570
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Concise Oxford dictionary of botany - Michael Allaby
Call Number: Bundoora General 580.3 C744
ISBN: 0192860941

Cover Art
Facts On File dictionary of botany - Jill Bailey
Call Number: Bundoora General 580.321 F142 2003
ISBN: 0816049114
Also available at Bendigo Reference 580.3 FACT

Cover Art
Dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics - Roger Lincoln, Geoff Boxshall, Paul Clark
Call Number: Bundoora General 570.3 L738d 1997
ISBN: 052143842X
Also available at Bendigo Stacks 577.03 LINC

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Genetics - Robert C. King; Pamela Khipple Mulligan; William D. Stansfield
Call Number: Bundoora Reference 576.503 K543
ISBN: 9780199766444
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Natural History - Michael Allaby (Editor); David Attenborough (Foreword by)
Call Number: Bundoora General 503 O98
ISBN: 0192177206
Publication Date: 1986-01-23
Also available at Albury-Wodonga Reference 508.0321 OXF R
2nd copy available in Bundoora Storage. Select 'Request A Hold' to borrow item.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip