Associations
- ACTF
Australian Children's Television Foundation - ACYL
Australian Centre for Youth Literature - CBC
Children's Book Council (Australia) - ChLA
Children's Literature Association, the peak US body - IBBY
International Board on Books for Young - National Centre for Research in Children's Literature
at University of Surrey , Roehampton (UK)
Authors and Illustrators
- ACHUKA
includes interviews of featured authors and illustrators (UK) - AuthorLinks
includes many major world and historical names, with a focus on those who feature in our Bendigo courses and Conference - Authors & Illustrators on the Web
has a good world coverage (Canada) - CBC (USA)
interviews and links for US authors and illustrators - Learning about the author and illustrator
huge list from Kay Vandergrift's site (USA)
Awards
- Australian Children's and Young Adult Awards
criteria and winners for the various Australian awards - Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
searchable database of major US, UK , Australian and Canadian awards (USA)
Book Reviews
- Mrs Mad's Book-a-rama
enthusiastic site of child-friendly reviews (UK) - Notes from the Windowsill
ongoing journal of personal reviews (US) - Reading Matters
includes extension suggestions (UK) - Reviews
by staff and students of La Trobe University, Bendigo
Gateways and General Links
- Children's and Young Adult Literature at Bendigo
our local gateway, based in our courses (Aust) - Children's Literature Web Guide
excellent site with wide coverage (Canada) - Fairrosa's Cyber Library
analyses of many current issues and discussions (USA) - Focus on Fiction
teaching ideas, awards, lists and recommendations (Aust) - Kay Vandergrift's Special Pages
critical analysis (including feminist analysis), history, genres, authors (USA) - Lu Rees Archive
research centre and collection at the University of Canberra (Aust) - Reading Zone
at the Internet Public Library (USA)
Genres and Themes
- Virtual World of Girls
on girl power, girls' school stories and the future of reading in an electronic age (UK)
History of Children's Literature
- CHILDE
searchable database of pre-20th century illustrations from European children's books (UK) - Children's Literature, chiefly from the 19th century
online exhibition of rare and key books, with notes (USA) - Children's Literature Research Collection
at the State Library of South Australia (Aust) - Elizabeth Nesbitt Room
library collections and research on major 19th century figures, particularly illustrators (USA) - International Children's Digital Library
rapidly growing collection of historical and recent texts from around the world, able to be downloaded. - Landmarks in the History of Children's Literature
chronology with links, including e-texts (USA) - Literature for Children
historical collections from Florida universities (USA) - ReadPrint
collection of online classic texts (USA) - Social History of Children's Literature
from Kay Vandergrift's excellent site (USA)
Literary Criticism, Theory and Research
- The ALAN Review
on-line journal on literature for adolescents (USA) - Children's Literature: a guide to the criticism
an on-line book listing major criticism of the 20th century (USA) - Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
clear definitions of the major "-isms" (USA) - Literary Theory links
from the Voice of the Shuttle subject gateway - The Looking Glass
online journal on children's literature (Canada) - Reading about Children's Literature
annotated bibliography of academic studies (Canada)
Myths and Legends, Folk and Fairy Tales, Traditional Literature
- Arthuriana
survey site of current research, with essays and links (UK) - Bulfinch's Mythology
online, searchable edition of the 19th century classic text - Camelot Project
extensive database of images, essays and links (USA) - Europe of Tales
multimedia collection of tales from various European cultures - Folk and fairy tales
DL Ashliman's detailed collection on Germanic and other European tales (USA) - Folklore, myth and legend
extensive list from the Children's Literature Web Guide (Canada) - The German Fairy-Tale Road
very detailed Primary School site on the tales of the Grimm brothers (Aust) - Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore and Drama
wide collection of Irish and Celtic texts and links (USA) - Jones Celtic Encyclopedia
- Legends
analytical site on British and European tales and traditions (USA) - Missgien
essays on Arthurian, Celtic and megalithic topics (Netherlands) - Mything Links
complex site of research-focussed material on myths and fairy tales (USA) - Myths and legends
stories and links from all over the world (USA) - ORB
Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies (USA) - Perseus Digital Library
major research and resource site for Greek and Roman civilizations (USA) - The Robin Hood Project
scholarly database of information about the Robin Hood stories (USA) - Stories of the Dreaming
from the Australian Museum 's Indigenous Australia site (Aust) - SurLaLune
annotated studies of the major traditional tales (USA)
Post-Colonial Literature
- African Children's Literature
introduction and starting point for study (USA) - Children's Literature Research Unit
covering literatures in African languages and cultures, including English (South Africa) - PoCo Web - Post-colonial and post-imperial literatures
wide-ranging analyses and links (Singapore) - Post-Colonial Studies
many links to authors and issues (USA) - Some issues in Post-Colonial Theory
course notes giving clear introduction (USA) - The Victorian Web
19th century society and thought
Contact Us |
Margaret BeasleyDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait