About Library Databases
Why use a library database?
The Library Databases index journal articles by topic. This is where you can access scholarly material for your university assignments. When you search a Library Database you are searching a particular set of journals which have been specifically chosen to be included in a database. Some Library Databases group together journals on particular discipline areas, so might be specific to environmental management for instance. Other Library Databases are more general in their coverage. You may find that you get the results you want from one database or you may need to use more than one for your research.
What does a database give you?
Some Databases provide the full text of an article and some just provide the reference. It you have not been able to access the article in full-text, check to see if the Library holds the Journal Title (either print or electronic).
(See the Journals Tab on this LibGuide for detals).
Recommended Databases
Below is a select list of databases (in alphabetical order) that you may find useful in your studies. There are also links to training and support offered by the database providers to enable you to get the most out of these products. You can save yourself a lot of time by learning how a database works before you use it.
Please have a look at the 'Environmental Management' Subject list (under Articles via Databases from the library homepage) for a list of resources that are relevent to your course. You may want to consult some of the other lists for specific subject areas such as botany, genetics or zoology. Select multiple databases to to 15 databases can be You can search 15 of these
To find individual journals you can search by journal title from the Library Homepage.
Biological Abstracts

Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts to the life sciences journal literature. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
See the OvidSP user guide, quick reference card, best practices in basic search, or factsheet for more information.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) we have access to a number of databases relevent to environmental management:
- ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
- GeoRef - Geology and Geoscience
- Oceanic Abstracts - Water resources, marine and brackish water
- Water Resources Abstracts - Water resources, water & wastewater treatment, water pollution
Check out the Quick Search, Advanced Search & Command Search tutorials
CSIRO Publishing
This set of journals published by the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation includes important Australian content. You will find a number of journals relevent to your studies including Australian Journal of Botany, Australian Journal of Zoology, Australian Systematic Botony, Emu, Invertebrate Systematics, Marine and Freshwater Research and Wildlife Research.
Informit

Informit databases have good coverage of Australian science journals and literature. Databases relevent to environmental management include:
- AGIS Plus Text - the Attorney-General's Information Service
- AHB - Australian Heritage Bibiolography
- AUSTGUIDE - Indexes some of the most popular science journals
- ELIXIR - Victorian DPI's Electronic Library EXchange for Information Resources
- ENDANGER - Threatened species in Australia
- EVA - Environmental Abstracts
- Engineering Collection - Includes sanitary and municipal engineering
Access Informit. Have a look at the 'Tips and Tricks' and 'Quick Reference Card' on the Informit support page.
ISI Web of Knowledge
![]()
Web of Knowledge contains a number of databases you may find useful: Web of science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents Connect.
ISI Web of Knowledge has excellent support and training in a variety of formats. See Training and Support.
Proquest

Full text. This database includes Wilson's General science abstracts with full-text and images. Subject coverage includes: astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food, genetics, health, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, nutrition, oceanography, physics, physiology, and zoology.
Access ProQuest Science Journals
See the ProQuest quick reference guide to get you started. To take advantage of some advanced features specific to ProQuest see the Smart Search demo.
Science Direct

Science Direct Web Editions allows electronic, full text access Direct titles to which we have print subscriptions. Full text is available for the previous 5 years
To learn more about Science Direct see the user guides and tutorials.
Scopus
![]()
Scopus is an abstracting and citation database covering a wide range of subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences. Scopus provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Includes abstracts from 1966- , and cited references from 1996-
For more info on how to use Scopus check out the user guide, demo, tutorials or other info.
SwetsWise
![]()
Full text access to online journal subscriptions available via Swets Blackwell Information Services.
Wiley InterScience
![]()
Full text to Wiley journals, online books and reference works. Provides access to over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical and professional journals published by John Wiley & Sons.
Check out the user guide and turorials to get the most of out of this database.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait