Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

EndNote 

Last update: Aug 16th, 2009 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Creating bibliographies             Print Page
  
 

Step One: Inserting citations into Word

  • Open the EndNote library/ies that contain the references you want to cite.
  • Open your Word document and position the cursor in the Word document where you want to insert the citation.
  • Alt 1 (this takes you to EndNote).
  • Select the citation/s you want to insert. Select multiple references by holding down Ctrl while clicking on the required References in your EndNote library (OR Shift and click to select a continuous range of references).
  • Alt 2 (this inserts the citation/s in your Word document).

 

 

Step Two: Selecting bibliographic styles

The bibliographic style determines how EndNote formats the citations and bibliography.

  • Go to the EndNote Edit> Output styles menu.
  • If the style you want is not listed in the default list, select Open Style Manager.
  • Preview styles on the EndNote styles screen by selecting Style Preview.
  • Use Find by to view styles by subject area OR type in the first few letters of a style name e.g. APA to preview a style.
  • Select your style/s by ticking the box to the left of the style name.

 

 

Step Three: Formatting the bibliography

  • To format your citations and bibliography, click on Alt 3.
  • Verify the selected bibliographic style or select another bibliographic style from the With output style drop down menu.
  • Click on OK.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait