Is it peer reviewed? Recommended databases Using databases to find journal articles 
Australian Film Resources Australian Government Sites Australian Media ResourcesImage Collections International Media Resources
Reference Material Searching the catalogue 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Media & Journalism  Tags: media_studies media  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/media  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding journal articles            Print Page
  
 

Using databases to find journal articles

1. Use your essay topic to indentify your search terms and keywords.

 
Hints

  • When you identify your keywords and phrases try and think of alternative words/phrases. For example, great britain or england or united kingdom. Also consider spelling variations (American and British) e.g. organisation or organization; behaviour or behavior.

  •  Use quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase e.g. "media research" or "moral panic" 

  •  Use AND to combine keywords ie.  media AND semiotics  Will find all records containing these words anywhere 

  •  Use OR to find any of these words: audience OR viewer Will find all records containing either of these words 

  • Wherever possible, truncate words to search for plurals or variants e.g.  austral* will bring up Australasia, Australasian, Australia, Australian.
    Most databases use the * truncation symbol. 

2. Select your database

  • Use one or several of the Library's Databases to find journal articles by topic.

  • To access the databases go to the Library Homepage and select Journal Articles & Databases.

  • Select Media Studies under Humanities and Social Sciences. A list of the most relevant Media databases appears on this page.

  • Alternately you can select a database from the column on the right hand side of this page.

3. Search the database

  • Using the Advanced or Guided search, enter your keywords eg  community radio and broadcast*
  • You should get a list of results/citations. Evaluate them
  • too few - try different keywords
  • too many - add another keyword or limit by date or place.
  • Try limiting your results to Peer Reviewed or Scholarly journals. This will help you retrieve only high quality or scholarly material
  •  

    4. Locate the articles


    Many databases contain fulltext articles (usually as a PDF or Full text link), but some only contain citations and abstracts/summaries. If a citation appears with no fulltext article you should check to see if there is a  "Find It" or "Check your Library Catalogue" or "Library Holdings" link. This will redirect you to the library's listing for that journal.

    If the citation has no full text link then you can search for the journal title in the Library Catalogue. Do a title search and enter the name of the JOURNAL (not the name of the article). In many cases you will find two catalogue records, one for the online copy and one for the print copy. See below for examples.

    Click on the entry for each title to see if the library holds the issue you require.


    Print copy - Held in the Library

     


    Online copy - available through a fulltext database

     

    Is the Article Refereed or Peer Reviewed?

    Throughout your course, lecturers will ask you to use particular types of journals for your assignment research.  Some instructions you might hear include:

     

    What are Peer Reviewed journals?

    • Peer reviewed journals are also known as Scholarly, Academic or Refereed journals
    • They contain articles written by and for scholars and researchers in the field
    • Their main purpose is reporting of original research or experimentation
    • They are usually published by a professional organisation
    • They always cite sources, using footnotes and/or bibliographies
    • They use terminology and jargon specific to the field
    • Lists the Editorial Board, or Peer Review Panel
    • They include information on how to format and submit papers is clearly stated
    • They often include details of where the journal is indexed, eg. JStor, Historical Abstracts

    If searching in a library database

    • Check to see if there is a box on the database search page that allows you to limit your search results to  Refereed/Peer Reviewed journal articles

    If wanting to check specific journal titles/articles here are some options:

    • Look at the article itself for a header or similar which indicates refereed or reviewed.

    • Look at the table of contents of the journal. Often items are grouped under a heading like "reviewed articles".

    • Check the journal's website to see if a statement is made about the content being Peer Reviewed or Refereed. Although be aware that not all the contents of a refereed journal will be refereed (e.g. books reviews, practice, commentaries, editorials).

    • Go to Ulrichsweb.com, under "Quick Search" drop to "Title (keyword)" and type in the journal title. Next to journal titles which include at least some refereed content is the image of a college shirt. Also you can click on the journal title and you will see down the page "Refereed - yes or no".

    For further information on  how to search for or identify peer reviewed journal articles - go to Identifying peer reviewed articles.

        
       

      Recommended Databases


      • APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text)  
          
        Indexes material on Australian political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs. Index from 1968 onwards. Full text from 1995 onwards.
      • Factiva  
          
        Full text newspapers, Australian and international, and business publications. Coverage goes back to the 1980s.

      • TV News  
          
        Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free- to-air networks with links to the digitised video content.
      • Newspapers & Newspaper Indexes  
      • Expanded Academic  
          
        Indexes over 2000 international journals in the social sciences and humanities areas. Full text and images available for around 900 journals.
      • Proquest Social Science and Humanities Collection  
          
        Provides access to over 10,000 publications, with more than 6,000 of those in full text. International coverage, but with North American focus. Search phrases in quotes. Can limit search to full text or peer-reviewed.
      • Australian Newspapers Beta  
        Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803 to 1954
      • Pandora Archive  
        Australia's Web Archive, is a growing collection of Australian online publications
      • Alternative Press Index  
          
        Indexes alternative and radical media and is widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America.
      • Current Contents (via OVID)  
          
        Indexes the world's leading scholarly research journals and books in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
      • Film Indexes Online  
          
        Brings together the Film Index International, American Film Institute Catalog and the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals. Contains over 85,000 full text articles. From 1900 to the present.
      • MLA Bibliography (Modern Languages Association Bibliography)  
          
        Useful for film adaptations of literature, directors as auteurs, etc.
       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait