Australian Media Resources
- ABC – Australian Broadcasting Corporation
- Australian Communications and Media Authority
- Australian Interactive Media Association
- Centre for Research in Culture and Communication
From Murdoch University - Community Broadcasting Association of Australia
- Internet resources for Communication and the Media
From The University of South Australia - Oz Guide: Internet Information sources for Australian journalists
- The Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance includes links to funding bodies.
- The RML Movie Page Richard Lowensteins directory of links to Film, TV and production resources
Australian Film Resources
- Australian Film Television and Radio School
- Australian Screen Audiovisual heritage online
- The Australian Centre for the Moving Image
- Film Victoria
- Ozfilm: Australian Film in the Reading Room
- Screen Australia Excellent Film, Media and Broadcasting links.
- ScreenSound: National Film and Sound Archive
- Urban Cinefile
- Australian Film Institute
International Media Resources
- Asia Pacific Network
Excellent list of resources, commentaries, and news articles - BUBL - Media links
- Journalism
Resources for journalists - MCS
Internet-based resources useful in the academic study of media and communication - Media & Communications
Discussion lists and Newsgroups - mediastudies.com
Provides links to international news & media studies sites - News and Media links
- News and Media – International Resources
From Yahoo - Online Communication Studies Resources
Includes Digital Media, Journalism, Media Law etc
Australian Government Websites
- ABC (Australian Broadcasting Commission)
- Arts Victoria
- Australian Communications and Media Authority
- The Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy ( Federal)
- The Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts (Federal)
- Department of Culture, Sport and Recreation (Victorian)
- Multimedia Victoria Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development, Victoria.
- Screen Australia The Commonwealth Government's new agency replacing the Australian Film Commission, Film Australia and the Film Finance Corporation.
- Government sites by Portfolio (Federal) Including agency websites
Image Collections
- aapimage Stock Photography Photo Gallery
- Australian Screen Audiovisual heritage online.
- Getty Images
- National Archives of Australia Click on Record Search to search their catalogue. Combine search with rs@i to limit search results to digital images.
- National Library of Australia When searching their catalogue select `Limit to:' to limit to Pictures, Manuscripts etc.
- PICMAN The State Library of NSW Pictures and Manuscripts collection.
- Picture Australia Online images of Australiana from various library and archival sources.
- Screen Australia Excellent Film, Media and Broadcasting links.
- ScreenSound: National Film and Sound Archive
- State Library of Victoria Pictures Index
Credibility
How do you discriminate between credible and non-credible information on the internet? The following guidelines show suggested evaluation criteria that can help you determine whether the information is credible enough to be used for university assignments.
What to look for:
- Author
Is the author identifiable and qualified to write about the topic? If the author is not listed then how do you know if they are qualified to write about the topic. - Publisher and Place
Make sure they are identifiable. - The Domain listed in the URL
The domains .gov (from a government institution) or .edu (from an educational institution) are generally ok to use. The domain .org* (from a non profit organisation) needs to be assessed carefully. Some .org websites are credible and some are not. For example you would not use information from http://en.wikipedia.org in your assignment as it is an encyclopedia that can be updated by anyone (not necessarily an expert on the topic). Yet a site like http://www.youngmedia.org.au would generally be ok.
You need to be wary of using information from a site with the domain .com (commercial site) as their interest is often to try and sell something, or promote a service. - Date
Check that the date produced or published is given. This would help verify whether the information is up-to-date, or if the information may not be recent but is still valid. - Coverage
Information needed is covered in terms of time period, geographical area, or level of detail in relation to the topic. - Content
Check that the information is not biased, and is correct in relation to information from other credible sources. Often information is opinion but pretends to be fact.
Other ways to use the internet to find information:
- Use sites your lecturer has recommended in your unit materials.
- Use Google Scholar If you find a reference to a journal article, check if the library has the full text of the article www.lib.latrobe.edu.au. Set up your preferences for La Trobe University Library on your home computer for google scholar. This means in some cases you can be linked directly to the full text of articles to which the library subscribes.
Further information
These websites provide strategies to help you critically assess the quality of information that you find on the internet.
- Evaluating Web sites - An online tutorial from the University of Wollongong
- Evaluating Information on the web - Flinders University Library
- Evaluating Internet Resources - includes a list of links to other internet evaluation sites - prepared by the James Cook University Library
- Evaluating Internet sites 101 - A virtual tutorial prepared by the Library at the University of Albany
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait