Australian Internet Resources
- Aboriginal languages of Australia (WWW Virtual Library)
Addresses, dictionaries, vocabulary, wordlists, placenames, texts in languages, sounds, songs, catalogues, bibliographies, language rights & policy, education & teaching, academic papers & notices, tertiary courses, papers & books, bookshops, mailing list - Aboriginal Studies Electronic Data Archive (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies)
Digital materials about Australian indigenous languages, including dictionaries, grammars, teaching materials. - Australian Linguistic Society
The national organization for linguists and linguistics in Australia. Its primary goal is to further interest in and support for linguistics research and teaching in Australia. Includes conference proceedings, journal abstratcs and newsletters. - Applied Linguistics Association of Australia
From the University of Sydney. - Australex: Australasian Association for Lexicography
Lexicography in Australia; Australian English; WWW lexicons of Australia; Some other WWW vocabularies of indigenous languages; Other lexicography societies; Other lexicographic links. - Australian linguistics network
From the University of Sydney; Links to societies, Australian university linguistics departments, forthcoming conferences and other general linguistics sites. A growing site showing great promise. - Australian word map
From ABC & Macquarie Library; Australian regionalisms - words, phrases and expressions used by particular language communities. - Research Centre for Languages and Cultures (RCLC)
University recognised Research Centre at Uni of Sth Australia, brings together a group of researchers committed to research & dialogue focused on languages & cultures, and the interaction of these with education, internationalisation, politics & identity. - Research Centre for Linguistic Typology
The Research Centre for Linguistic Typology (RCLT) is part of the new Institute for Advanced Study within La Trobe University. The main business of the Centre consists in putting forward inductive generalisations about human language.
International Internet Resources
- BUBL - Language
BUBL (the BUlletin Board for Libraries) provides a subject-based service to the academic and research community (in the UK) by means of the BUBL Subject Tree. - Center for Applied Linguistics
A non-profit organization; scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems. - James Crawford's Language Policy Website
Covers language policy and bilingual education, politics of language and education, the English Only movement and endangered languages. James Crawford is an independent writer and lecturer who specialises in the politics of language. - MICASE (Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English)
From the University of Michigan. The project looks at the characteristics of contemporary academic speech. Soundfiles also available. - Rosetta Project
Creates a contemporary version of the Rosetta Stone as a platform for comparative language study and to preserve languages that may become lost in future. "A growing collection of descriptions, texts, analytic material and audio files for 1,000 languages. - Terralingua
Terralingua (TL) is an international, nonprofit organization concerned about the future of the world's biological, cultural, and linguistic diversity. Includes bibliographies and the table of contents of their newsletter Langscape.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait