Finding booksJournalsDatabasesWebsitesIs it peer reviewed?Copyright for Students
Making the most of GooglePeer reviewed?? Best evidence??LibSkillsLiterature Resources From Oxford
Fairy TalesAustralian Stories & AuthorsGothicModernismPlotPostmodernismAuthors
This is the "Home" page of the "English: Introduction to Literature - The Short Story (ENG1ILS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English: Introduction to Literature - The Short Story (ENG1ILS)  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2015 URL: Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page

Where to start

Looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography


Need book reviews? Search ProQuest Research Library

Need basic life and works information? Try Oxford Reference Online: Literature Titles

(Use the previous link from within the La Trobe network. Outside La Trobe Oxford Reference is tricky to use - follow this link )


Alice Munro


GREAT RESOURCE - The New Yorker - Fiction Podcast

A monthly reading and conversation with The New Yorkers fiction editor, Deborah Treisman. Once a month, The New Yorker publishes a fiction podcast in which one famous fiction writer reads the work of another. All of the stories come from The New Yorker's archives, and all of the readers have had their own work published in the magazine.

Features well known authors reading and discussing a favourite short story from the magazine's archives. Includes stories by Roberto Bolaño, John Cheever, Raymond Carver, Don DeLillo, Frank O’Connor, Eudora Welty, Alice Munro, John Updike and many more

Also available through iTunes at New Yorker: Fiction



This Libguide provides you with an introduction to conducting research in English Literature.
It provides a guide to finding library resources that will support your research including

  • links to online encyclopedias and dictionaries for background reading
  • how to find books and book chapters
  • how to find journal articles for essay research
  • how to read citations and find them using the catalogue


NOTE this guide is not a complete list of resources but rather a useful starting point from which you will carry out your own research.


The Monthly

The Monthly magazine: intelligent media, politics, society, culture, environment, economics, reviews and more. Includes SlowTV.


The Monthly Book Club

Each month Ramona Koval chooses a book, provides reading notes and posts a video interview. She hosts a live online conversation with readers at the end of the month.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Brian-Branov
Contact Info
+61 (03) 9479 29 19
Send Email

Contact us

Profile Image
Maureen Speed
Contact Info
Library Coordinator
Mildura Campus
T: +61 (0)3 5051 4026
Send Email


SlowTV is a free internet TV channel delivering interviews, debates, conversations and public lectures about Australia's key political, social and cultural issues

Loading Loading...
blank padding

How to Get the Library's EBooks

Ebooks at La Trobe

This library guide shows how to borrow and download from the library extensive collection of EBooks.

The guide also shows how you can read EBooks on your mobile device such as ipads, iphone, Adndroid devices, etc.


Loading  Loading...