Reference Material Searching the catalogue 
Is it peer reviewed or scholarly? Using databases to find journal articles 
Electronic Journals Recommended Journals 
Archive & Library Collections Gateways Image Collections Specific Topic Resources 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Australian History  Tags: australian history australian_history  

Last update: Jul 12th, 2009 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/australian_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Journal articles            Print Page
  

Recommended Databases

These are just some of the key Australian History database. For a comprehensive list, please go to the library homepage and select Journal Articles and Databases.

  • APAFT  
    Major Australian database including current affairs, history, social sciences and politics. Coverage from 1978 onwards. Full Text 1995-
  • Informit Complete  
    Includes AHB-Australian Heritage Bibliography; AHRR-Australian Historic Records Register; AUSCHRON-A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events; AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Covers the world's scholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present.
  • Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes  
  • JSTOR  
    A full text archive to many humanities and social sciences journals. Full text coverage of 100's of leading journals.
  • Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities  
    Includes fulltext coverage to 1000's of general reference, arts, humanities and sciences journals.
  • Expanded Academic  
    Contains fulltext coverage to over 1500 social sciences and humanities journals.
  • Australian Newspapers Beta  
    Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803 to 1954
  • Pandora Archive  
    Australia's Web Archive, is a growing collection of Australian online publications.
 
 

Using databases to find journal articles

1. Begin by using your essay topic to indentify your search terms and keywords.

Hints

  • When you identify your keywords and phrases try and think of alternative words/phrases. For example, Aboriginal or Indigenous. Also consider spelling variations (American and British) e.g. civilization and civilisation.

  •  Use quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase e.g. "eureka stockade" or "women's suffrage". 

  •  Use AND to combine keywords ie.  masculinity and war. This will find all records containing these words anywhere.

  •  Use OR to find any of these words: protest OR moratorium will find all records containing either of these words

  • Wherever possible, truncate words to search for plurals or variants e.g.  austral* will bring up Australasia, Australasian, Australia, Australian.
    Most databases use the * truncation symbol. 

2. Select your database

  • Use one or several of the Library's Databases to find journal articles by topic.

  • To access the databases go to the Library Homepage and select Journal Articles & Databases. Select Australian Studies/History under Humanities and Social Sciences.A list of the most relevant Australian History databases appears on this page.

  •  Alternately you can choose one of the databases from the column on the left hand side of this page.

3. Perform your search

  • Using the Advanced or Guided search, enter your keywords eg memory and war *
  • You should get a list of results/citations. Evaluate them.
  • too few - try different keywords
  • too many - add another keyword or limit by date or place.
  • Try limiting your results to Peer Reviewed or Scholarly journals. This will help you retrieve only high quality or scholarly material.

  • 4. Locate the articles

    Many databases contain fulltext articles (usually as a PDF or Full text link), but some only contain citations and abstracts/summaries. If a citation appears with no fulltext article you should check to see if there is a  "Find It" or "Check your Library Catalogue" or "Library Holdings" link. This will redirect you to the library's listing for that journal.

    If the citation has no full text link then you can search for the journal title in the Library Catalogue. Do a title search and enter the name of the JOURNAL (not the name of the article). In many cases you will find two catalogue records for the same title, one for the online copy and one for the print copy. See below for examples.
    Click on the entry for each title to see if the library holds the issue you require.

    Print copy - Held in the Serials section

     


    Online copy - available through a fulltext database  

    Is the Article Refereed or Peer Reviewed?

    Throughout your course, lecturers will ask you to use particular types of journals for your assignment research.  Some instructions you might hear include:

     

    What are Peer Reviewed journals?

    • Peer reviewed journals are also known as Scholarly, Academic or Refereed journals
    • They contain articles written by and for scholars and researchers in the field
    • Their main purpose is reporting of original research or experimentation
    • They are usually published by a professional organisation
    • They always cite sources, using footnotes and/or bibliographies
    • They use terminology and jargon specific to the field
    • Lists the Editorial Board, or Peer Review Panel
    • They include information on how to format and submit papers is clearly stated
    • They often include details of where the journal is indexed, eg. JStor, Historical Abstracts

    If searching in a library database

    • Check to see if there is a box on the database search page that allows you to limit your search results to  Refereed/Peer Reviewed journal articles

    If wanting to check specific journal titles/articles here are some options:

    • Look at the article itself for a header or similar which indicates refereed or reviewed.

    • Look at the table of contents of the journal. Often items are grouped under a heading like "reviewed articles".

    • Check the journal's website to see if a statement is made about the content being Peer Reviewed or Refereed. Although be aware that not all the contents of a refereed journal will be refereed (e.g. books reviews, practice, commentaries, editorials).

    • Go to Ulrichsweb.com, under "Quick Search" drop to "Title (keyword)" and type in the journal title. Next to journal titles which include at least some refereed content is the image of a college shirt. Also you can click on the journal title and you will see down the page "Refereed - yes or no".

    For further information on  how to search for or identify peer reviewed journal articles - go to Identifying peer reviewed articles.

        
       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait