Archive & Library Collections
- Australian Archives on the WWW
- Australia's Oral History Collection Allows you to search within tens of thousands of hours of oral recordings held by the National Library of Australia.
- Australian Newspapers Digitisation Project-Beta search
- Australian Trade Union Archives
- Australian War Memorial
- CAN Collections Australia Network An online index to Australian cultural heritage cllections.
- Directory of Archives in Australia
- Museum of Victoria
- National Archives of Australia The archives main catalogue, Record Search, describes over 6 million records.
- National Film and Sound Archive Search the collection of films, images, interviews and sound recordings.
- National Library of Australia Search their catalogue and select `Limit to:' to limit to Pictures, Manuscripts etc.
- Pandora - Australia's web archive A collection of Australian online publications, established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations.
- The Public Record Office Victoria Use the online catalogue to search the collection.
- RAAM - Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts Searchable online guide to records and personal papers held in libraries and archives across Australia.
- Royal Historical Society of Victoria Also available - the index to the Victorian Historical Journal and the Victorian Historical Magazine.
- State Library of NSW- Online Collections
- State Library of Victoria
- University of Melbourne Archives
Image Collections
- The Biggest Family Album Database Developed by Museum Victoria, this collection includes photographs covering the 1870s to the 1950s.
- National Archives of Australia Click on Record Search to search their catalogue. Combine search with rs@i to limit search results to digital images.
- National Library of Australia When searching their catalogue select `Limit to:' to limit to Pictures, Manuscripts etc.
- Picture Australia Online images of Australiana from various library and archival sources.
- PICMAN The State Library of NSW Pictures and Manuscripts collection.
- State Library of Victoria Pictures Index
- Australian Screen Audiovisual heritage online.
- Screen Australia Excellent Film, Media and Broadcasting links.
- ScreenSound: National Film and Sound Archive
Gateways
- Australian Government Gateway to Federal, State, Territory and Local governments.
- Australian Cultural Network Australian Government directory to over 3000 websites.
- Australian Family History and Genealogy on the Internet From the National Library of Australia.
- Australian History on the Internet National Library of Australia lists a number of sites useful for researching history on the internet.
- Clayton's Gateway Arranged by the subject headings of the Dewey system.
- Historical Documents Online - National Library of Australia
- State Library of NSW - History Links
Specific Topic Resources
- Australian Federation Fulltext Database
- Chinese Heritage of Australian Federation Teaching materials, research, databases and links.
- Documenting a Democracy: Australia's Story Maintained by the National Archives, this searchable site provides full text primary sources from Australia 's foundation to today.
- Encounters A history of Aboriginal people in Victoria , from Museum Victoria.
- Golden Threads Online exhibition on the Chinese in regional NSW 1850 - 1950.
- Indigenous Australia Includes Cultural Heritage, Spirituality, Family, Land and Social Justice, a Glossary and a Timeline.
- Journeys in Time 1809 - 1822 Transcripts of the journals of Lachlan and Elizabeth Macquarie.
- 'Transported Back' The Public Transport Corporation Photographic Collection.
- Victorian Heritage Register From the Heritage Council of Victoria.
- Victorians at War Oral History Project
- Victoria's History A strong focus on local and oral history.
- Women's Weekly Index 1946 - 1971 Searchable database of articles for theyears 1946, 1951, 1956, 1961, 1966 and 1971.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait