Searching the databases
Journal articles are an excellent source of Academic debate on your topic. Gender is an Interdisciplinary subject so many subject specific databases will include material relevant to Gender studies. Be prepared to search a range of resources in areas such as Health, Sociology, Current Affairs, Education, Law and so on.
Locating journal articles using the databases
- The only way to find journal articles on a particular subject is to search Databases
- Journal articles are indexed in electronic databases
- Some Databases such as Proquest and Expanded Academic include the full article in most cases. Other databases give you the details of the article and you need to locate it using our catalogue.
Note: If there is not a link to the full text of the article on the database check the catalogue for our holdings of the journal.
Search Databases using similar keywords to searching in the catalogue. Do not use too many words or you will not get any results.
Key Databases for Gender Studies
- Gender Studies - all Databases Select from the list or cross search by ticking the boxes
- Expanded Academic Use the Advanced search. Many articles are available in full text from the Database.
- Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Many articles available in full text via the database
- Womens Studies International Includes links to the Full text of Journal articles
- APAFT For Australian content.
- Factiva National and International newspapers all full text articles
Recommended International databases
- Current Contents
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Proquest 5000
- Sociological Abstracts
- Web of Science
- Women's Studies International
- Project Muse A collection of Humanities journals
- JSTOR An Archive of journal articles. No access to the last 5 years.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait