Is it peer reviewed
keyword searching 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Anthropology 

Library research guide for Anthropology
Last update: Jul 20th, 2009 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Journal Articles            Print Page
  

Databases

Always search more than one database as you will find different articles.  They do not index the same set of journals.

 
 

Method

Journal Titles are listed in the catalogue, but NOT journal articles.


To find journal articles on a topic for essays you need to search a database that indexes articles from Anthropology journals.

There are 3 steps to finding journal articles

Identify your search terms

Select and search the databases

Get the full text of the article

 

Search terms

Use the terminology in your essay question to help you define your search terms eg.

What is anthropology?  What do you understand by the anthropological imagination? What might be some of the special aspects of anthropology that would assist in understanding any one of the following issues?

                (a)  social inequality            (b)  racism

                (c) poverty                            (d) collective violence

                (e) gift-giving                        (f) food preferences and taboos

 

Possible search terms

food preference and taboos


Think of alternative terms / synonyms to help you find a comprehensive list of articles eg

food preferences  OR food habits

taboos OR ban or customs or tradition

Use Truncation

tradition* = traditional traditions

ban* = banned bans

The search may look like this

food habits or food preferences   AND

taboo* or ban*

 

NOTE - you do not need to add the word Anthropology to the search if you are searching in an Anthropology database such as Anthropology plus.

 

 

 

databases

Databases are indexes of Journal articles
They are usually subject based
They provide citations that detail where to find the journal article - the journal title year volume issue and page nos.
Often they have abstracts - a summary of the article.  Sometimes there is a link to the full article from the database.

To find journal articles with an Anthropological perspective select one of the databases from the Anthropology list in the right hand box.

For example the search in Anthropology Plus (Advanced search screen) may look like this

 

Results List

 

 

 

 

Find the article

A typical citation on a databases contains:-

  • Author
  • Title of the Article
  • Title of the Journal (Source)
  • Year Volume Issue and page details

This is a typical citation from the database Anthropology plus

What an Oriya widow can eat (title of the article)
Author: Routray, Sailen Source: Contributions to Indian sociology (New Series) V. 42, no. 2 (2008), p. 307-10 Doc. Type: article Database Name: Anthropological Index

 

To find the full article you need

  • Title of the Journal (Source)
  • Year Volume Issue and page details

Step 1

look up the title of the Journal in our catalogue Journal title search

 

Step 2

Select the online version if it is available

Do we have access to the year that you need?

 

Step 3

  • Select the link with the issues you need
  • Once you are at the journal page look for the archive or the back issues, choose the year and issue and scroll down to find the article

 

NOTE - Check all the library records of the journal for what years are available. Each record will have different access. If it is not available online it may still be available in print on our shelves

 


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait