Find resources
Get started with your research and use the library and databases to find resources.
Get started with research
- Finding information - Achieve@UniLearn how to analyse your topic and start your research, develop your library search and academic databases skills.
- SearchHow to use Library Search to find resources.
Books
- Library SearchUse Library Search to look for books and journal articles in the library and online.
- Example topic: professionalism in health
Try a combination of keywords: professionalism; professional practice; working professionally & keywords associated with being a professional e.g. ethics, competence, altruism, committment etc AND health; medical; human services; a discipline name e.g. radiography
- Example topic: mechanisms by which health and human service delivery is monitored
Try a combination of keywords: registration; regulation; accreditation AND health practitioner*; a discipline name e.g. radiography
Find articles in databases
The following databases are recommended for locating articles on interprofessional practice. Use keywords to search as suggested in the previous section. For in-depth instruction in searching, see the Health Databases expert guide.
- Health DatabasesFor more help using health databases, see this expert guide for in-depth information and instructions.
- CINAHLCovers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- ProQuest CentralMultidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- Proquest Nursing and Allied HealthNursing and Allied Health Source includes full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
- Informit HealthProvides full text access to Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific health journals, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic, preventative and primary health roles.
Search tips
- Differences in American English and Australian English spelling
- If a word is sometimes hyphenated, search using the hyphen and find both terms
- Truncation finds all words with different endings eg. use addict* to find addict/s, addicted, addiction/s
- Wildcard symbols finds words spelt in different ways eg. organi?ation will find organisation and organization (Wildcard symbol can vary between databases)
- Double quotation marks keep words together as a phrase eg. "mental health"
- Limits will refine your search results: language, human, gender, age, date or type of publication
- Check the database Help or Tips to find advice on which symbol to use for truncation or wildcard, and other helpful tips
Using Google Scholar
Set up Google Scholar preferences to find items held by La Trobe University Library when you are searching off campus.