Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English: 20th Century Australian Literature (ENG23TAL) 

Guide to searching library resources for your research
Last update: Mar 29th, 2009 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/engtal  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases/Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Library Databases for Australian Literature

  • Journal articles are a good source of Academic debate and discussion. They are indexed on Library Databases.
  • This list below would all include references to articles on Australian Literature.
  • Always search more than one database as they index different journal titles.
  • Not all Databases include the full text of the article - see below for how to find the full text

APAFT

All the major journals on Australian literature are indexed in full by this database. Some full text available.

Austlit

See below for searching guide as you need to become familiar with this databse. Lists creative and critical writing by or about Australian authors. AustLit also covers: reviews of Australian literature; reviews of film and stage adaptations of Australian literature. No full text

MLA: Modern Language Association bibliography

An international index of literature and literary criticism including articles on Australian Literature.

Expanded Academic

A general undergraduate database of scholarly articles that includes literature. Some good Australian content.

JSTOR - Journal archive - do not get the most recent 5 years of articles

Choose the advanced search, select the Language and Literature group of Journals and tick the box for articles.

Google scholar

You can search Google scholar for articles and link directly to our library online journals from Google Scholar - to have the links display when you are off campus see direction for how to set up your Google Scholar preferences

 

Searching AustLit

AustLit is an important resource for this subject. You should become familiar with searching this database. It is not as user friendly as some databases so here are some suggestions for navigating it.

1. Select the guided search

2. Enter your author or the title of the text into the subject field.

3.The results will potential be:-

  • Journal articles
  • Chapters in books
  • Whole books
  • Articles from Newspapers

See below for instructions on how to find the full text of the Journal article, Book Chapter or Newspaper article

 

Finding the full text

To Find the Whole journal article - when there is no link from the database

eg Find the following article

 Ng, Andrew.  'The wider shores of gothic', Meajin 66.2 (2007): 149-156.

Look up the title of the journal in the catalogue journal title search

Look at the ALL the records for the journal - some records will have the print holdings and others will have links to the online journal.

This is the record for the Meanjin  online holdings

Select the APAFT link and choose your year volume and issue no.  2007 volume 66 issue no. 2

Scroll through the contents to find your title and PDF document for the  'Wider shores of gothic'


To find the  chapter in a book

Look up the title of the book in the catalogue - books tab, title search.

eg. Thirteen ways of looking at the novel

Find the location and the call no. of the book - request a hold if it is at another campus or on loan.


To find the newspaper article reference

Go to Articles via databases

Select 'F' for Factiva

Change the date so it includes the year you need

search for the title of the article - voyage round her father

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait