Where to start?
Use the Catalogue TAB to find resources such as books, exam papers, specific journals and audio-visual items. Use the A-Z databases/Journals TAB to identify and locate individual articles in journals. Use the LibSearch TAB to perform a Google like search across ALL Library resources, including journal articles.

For advice in using these tools, use the HELP! link, including the Library Skills Online tutorials
Keywords and descriptors - when searching catalogues and databases, be ready to use a wide range of terms, both general and precise, and in combinations. For example:
| literacy | special education | constructivism | curriculum and secondary | classroom management |
| gifted children | learning disabilities | thinking skills | Victorian Certificate of Education | educational psychology |
If your search returns too many items, use narrower or combinations of terms. If you do not find enough, try broader terms. The thesauri listed below can help your find broader, narrower and related terms.
Key Resources - Reference Material
- ACER'S Education Thesaurus
- A dictionary of education [electronic resource] / edited by Susan Wallace.
- Encyclopedia of primary education [electronic resource]
- The Primary Science and Technology Encyclopedia [electronic resource].The book provides clear descriptions, definitions and explanations of difficult scientific concepts, carefully chosen to reflect the needs of those involved in primary science education
- The Encyclopedia of Informal Education
- Dictionary of education terms
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education [electronic resource]
- Learning theories A - Z
- Dictionary of classroom strategies K-6This resource introduces teaching, learning and assessment strategies for the classroom. It is intended both as a reference tool for teachers and as a professional development guide for schools
- YourDictionary.comIncludes languages and translation.
- Dictionary.com
- Thesaurus.com
- The Australian Bureau of Statistics
- Encyclopedia of applied linguistics [electronic resource]
Contact Us
Education
Faculty Librarians:
Albury-Wodonga : Heather Hulett

Bendigo: Clayton Bolitho

Bundoora : Kerry Sullivan



Loading...
