Newspapers
Factiva
- FactivaContains full text articles from hundreds of Australian and international papers.
- Finding newspaper articlesFor more information on finding articles in Factiva, see our News media guide.
Searching Factiva
- Type the name of the film or book. If the film has a common name add additional details, either the word `film', 'book" or the name of the Author, director or producer i.e. Australia and Baz Luhrmann. Use connectors (AND, OR) to join the parts of the search.
- You may need to change the date range, the default is three months. If not, you will retrieve reviews from when the film was released on video or DVD and also reviews of every television screening.
- If you want to search for reviews in International and Australian newspapers select "Group: Aust News-Major papers"
Limiting your results to feature articles
- Getting too many results? Try limiting by word count. This helps remove brief articles and is useful for finding detailed reviews or feature articles.
- How? Add the word count code: wc can be used with an = sign, or with the less than < or greater than > operators. Example: australia and baz luhrmann and wc>800
Other newspaper indexes
- Media Scanfeatures articles indexed from daily Australian newspapers including: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-) and The Herald Sun (1991-)
- Alternative Press IndexAn international index to alternative sources of information. Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines
- Sydney Morning Herald online archive 1955-1990fully keyword searchable - including all articles, photo captions, advertisements and classifieds. The archive is free to search.Note that the Library subscribes to the Sydney Morning Herald on microfilm, so this index can be used to locate relevant dates and page references, then go to the microfilm for the full article.
- Gale NewsVaultCross-search all Gale newspaper archives and explore over 400 years of content. . Papers include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Times Digital Archive 1785-1985; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005.