Find definitions

Searching for definitions of key terms is a good way to begin an assignment.

As with any other information that you use for assignments, you should get that information from sources which are credible or scholarly. 

There is a range of scholarly and credible sources in which to find definitions. Recommended sources:

• Reputable dictionaries and encyclopedias, and books on the topic
• Glossaries from credible organisations or credible industry reports and documents

Reputable dictionaries and encyclopedias

Use Library Search to find a dictionary to suit your topic. What sort of dictionary would you expect your terms to be in?...a health dictionary? a management dictionary? a general dictionary?

Search example: dictionaries or health dictionaries or management dictionaries or a dictionary of public health or try other search terms – think about where a definition of professionalism might be.

Sometimes you will find that there might be a dictionary which is specific to your discipline area and sometimes you might use a general one.

Oxford Reference Online is a broad general dictionary which the library subscribes to. It contains dictionaries on different subject areas.

Books on the topic available via La Trobe University Library

Search for books via the library homepage > Search tab on topics which relate to the terms you are wanting to define. 

Example "human resource management"

Glossaries from credible organisations or credible industry reports/documents.  

Some examples are listed here - but you may find others. Look within the contents of reports for headings such as 'Definitions'; 'Glossaries'.

  [image used with permission of Australian Insitute of Health & Welfare]

Industry reports