This is the "Home" page of the "Japanese Anime & Manga (AST2JAM/AST3JAM)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Anime & Manga (AST2JAM/AST3JAM)   Tags: anime, japan, japanese, manga, popular_culture  

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2012 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/jam Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting started

Do you need to find journal articles?

Journal articles are a good source of current academic information for your essays.

Try the following Databases:

Need more information on searching for journal articles?

Why can't I just Google ?

 

Also - Try our new search.

 

This is a good starting point for your research. It searches across a wide range of publications including books, ebooks, journal articles and more with just one search. However as it is new, it does not search our entire list of databases. You will still need to perform a search in a database from our A-Z database list.

 

New Titles

These are some of the books that are new to the library. The full list of new titles is updated every Friday and can be viewed here.

Cover Art
Directory of World Cinema: Japan - edited by John Berra.
"From the revered classics of Akira Kurosawa to the modern marvels of Takeshi Kitano, the films that have emerged from Japan represent a national cinema that has gained worldwide admiration and appreciation. The Directory of World Cinema: Japan provides an insight into the cinema of Japan through reviews of significant titles and case studies of leading directors, alongside explorations of the cultural and industrial origins of key genres" - Google Books

Cover Art
Anime and philosophy : wide eyed wonder - dited by Josef Steiff and Tristan D. Tamplin.
Anime and Philosophy focuses on some of the most-loved, most-intriguing anime films and series, as well as lesser-known works, to find what lies at their core. Astro Boy, Dragon Ball Z, Ghost in the Shell, and Spirited Away are just a few of the films analyzed in this book. In these stories about monsters, robots, children, and spirits who grapple with the important questions in life we find insight crucial to our times: lessons on morality, justice, and heroism, as well as meditations on identity, the soul, and the meaning — or meaninglessness — of life. Anime has become a worldwide phenomenon, reaching across genres, mediums, and cultures. For those wondering why so many people love anime or for die-hard fans who want to know more, Anime and Philosophy provides a deeper appreciation of the art and storytelling of this distinctive Japanese culture - Amazon

Cover Art
Anime essentials : every thing a fan needs to know - Gilles Poitras.
What makes Japanese animation Japanese? What are the top, not-to-be-missed films? Who's got the anime goods? What's it all mean anyway? Answering just about every question a fan (or curious parent) has, Anime Essentials is an easy-to-read and fun-to-look-at overview of the pop culture phenomenon sweeping America. It discusses the major players, where to get your anime fix, otaku (devoted fan) etiguette, how to run an anime club (and get pre-release screenings!), how to "talk" anime to outsiders, and lots more of interest both to veterans and newcomers - Amazon

Cover Art
Comics in translation - edited by Federico Zanettin.
"Comics are a pervasive art form and an intrinsic part of the cultural fabric of most countries. And yet, relatively little has been written on the translation of comics. Comics in Translation attempts to address this gap in the literature and to offer the first and most comprehensive account of various aspects of a diverse range of social practices subsumed under the label 'comics'. Focusing on the role played by translation in shaping graphic narratives that appear in various formats, different contributors examine various aspects of this popular phenomenon. Topics covered include the impact of globalization and localization processes on the ways in which translated comics are embedded in cultures; the import of editorial and publishing practices; textual strategies adopted in translating comics, including the translation of culture- and language-specific features; and the interplay between visual and verbal messages. Comics in translation examines comics that originate in different cultures, belong to quite different genres, and are aimed at readers of different age groups and cultural backgrounds, from Disney comics to Art Spiegelman's Maus, from Katsuhiro ¯Otomo's Akira to Goscinny and Uderzo's Astérix. The contributions are based on first-hand research and exemplify a wide range of approaches. Languages covered include English, Italian, Spanish, Arabic, French, German, Japanese and Inuit. The volume features illustrations from the works discussed and an extensive annotated bibliography. Contributors include: Raffaella Baccolini, Nadine Celotti, Adele D'Arcangelo, Catherine Delesse, Elena Di Giovanni, Heike Elisabeth Jüngst, Valerio Rota, Carmen Valero-Garcés, Federico Zanettin and Jehan Zitawi."--Publisher description.

Cover Art
Paprika (DVD) - Director: Satoshi Kon
"Three scientists at the Foundation for Psychiatric Research fail to secure a device they've invented, the D.C. Mini, which allows people to record and watch their dreams. A thief uses the device to enter people's minds, when awake, and distract them with their own dreams and those of others. Chaos ensues. The trio - Chiba, Tokita, and Shima - assisted by a police inspector and by a sprite named Paprika must try to identify the thief as they ward off the thief's attacks on their own psyches. Dreams, reality, and the movies merge, while characters question the limits of science and the wisdom of Big Brother"--IMDb website.

Contact Us

Profile Image
Lisa Donnelly
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip