Where to start
Looking for Newspaper Articles? Try Factiva
Not sure how to use Factiva. This guide may help:
Newspaper Articles - Factiva and Other Australian Newspaper Sources
This guide explains how to find fulltext newspaper articles using the Factiva database. Also lists other online newspaper archives and microfilm newspaper collections, available at La Trobe.
Need TV news reports? Search TVNews
Articles from major Australian and New Zealand newspapers and ABC News transcripts
BBC College of Journalism
upstart
upstart is a project of La Trobe's Journalism, Media Studies and Cinema Studies programs. The site showcases the writing of emerging journalists, while providing a platform for new adventures in journalism.
Columbia Journalism Review

Loading...
The Monthly
Ace in the Hole (1951)
Ace in the Hole (1951)
What a sixty-year-old noir can tell us about the Murdoch hacking scandal.
This film is available to borrow from the library.
The film is also known as The Big Carnival.
It is vitally important ...
Welcome
This guide provides information on how to research your media subjects.
It includes information on how to find books, journal and newspaper articles. It also provides links to web sites and other resources that might be useful to your research.
Click on the above tabs and follow each step to:
- Identify your search terms
- Find books
- Find journal articles
- Browse subject specific internet sites
- Reference your work and write up your essay
This guide is certainly not a comprehensive guide to the literature, but we hope that it will be a useful starting point from which you will carry out your own research
The Future of News
"ABC News (US) vows to cut its news staff by three hundred to four hundred, about 25 percent. More than one-quarter of the public now gets news from cell phones. Bankruptcies, buyouts, and bolting advertisers send one message: The sky, filled with pink slips for reporters, is falling on mainstream news media."
The spring 2010 issue of Daedalus - the influential and authoritative journal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences - was devoted to the topic "The Future of News.
Click on the link below to get full text access.
Computer-Assisted Reporting
Stephen Lamble University of the Sunshine Coast
Visit his comprehensive reference and research website for journalists, journalism students and other researchers around the world.
New Matilda
New Matilda is an Australian website of news, analysis and satire. It provides intelligent coverage of Australian politics, business, civil society, international affairs, media and culture since 2004.
Loading...
Sweet Smell of Success (1957)
Sweet Smell of Success (1957)
Rips the veil off newspaper idealism
This film is available to borrow from the library.
Citizen Journalism
The Knight Community News Network is a self-help portal that guides both ordinary citizens and traditional journalists in launching and responsibly operating community news and information sites.
Part of the Knight Community News Network (an initiative of J-Lab: The Institute for Interactive Journalism), the Citizen Journalist’s Guide to Open Government targets the lay person and provides guidance on how to become an online reporter, or "citizen journalist." The homepage displays 10 virtual “doors” leading to topics on how to access government information through Freedom of Information Act requests and take advantage of open access to courts and town meetings.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Featured Database
ozguide
Find experts, contacts, and net-based sources of Australian facts, including business information, cases, databases, directories, government information, legislation, reports, statistics, and trade figures.
News Tattoo
Victorian Country Press Association
The Craft of Research
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams.
Call Number: Bundoora Reserve, 001.42 B725c 2008
This is an enormously helpful book pitched at the perfect level of sophistication for La Trobe students. Especially useful is chapter 3, which discusses how to turn a general interest in a subject into a focused research question or problem. This is a crucial step in any research project and one that is often given too little thought. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition.
The Isis
The ISIS, England’s longest running independent student magazine, was founded at Oxford University in 1892.























Loading...
