This is the "Music Collections" page of the "Music Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Collection   Tags: keith humble, music, scores  

Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates
Music Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Music

[

Manuscript from Igreja de Sao Francisco, Evora, Portugal, Photo by Ceinturion, Wikimedia Commons

 

La Trobe University Library has a  diverse and significant collection of musical score sets including: 12th century to 15th Century sacred music (in particular 14th century Gregorian chant); Jazz; Opera; Orchestra; Chamber, Strings and Keyboard works of all major composers; and Instrument and instrumental ensembles. The collection also includes medieval and renaissance musical manuscripts in microform format. Original collections of traditional folk music e.g. UNESCO recordings are also held in the collection. Additionally, there are colour facsimiles including: Codex Einsiedeln 121, the earliest complete manuscript of Gregorian chant (DM 1,900); Codex Calixtinus, a source of the earliest polyphonic music; and the Squarcialupi Codex, the collection of fourteenth-century Florentine music (LIT,200.000).

 

The collection also comprises the musical scores of past lecturers of the La Trobe Music Department: Humble, Dollarhide, Whiffin, Pressing, and Pollard.

 

A valuable donation by Mrs Jill Humble, from the Keith Humble estate, of Collected sets of musical scores: 88 J.S.Bach; 129 W.A. Mozart; 40 A. Schoenberg.  The Ron Waldington Fund helped to form a valuable and comprehensive collection of jazz sound recordings.

 

Exploring the collection

 


Availability

Melbourne campus. Some older or more valuable items may be held in Special Storage.

Access

Your valid student/staff card allows you to borrow from any campus library. Some material may not be for loan.

Search

Musical scores and recorded music may be found by searching the Library catalogue under Keyword/Subject: “Organ music”,”Jazz”, etc. Searches can then be refined to include only ‘Music Scores’ or ‘Sound recording’.   A particular composer may be searched by conducting an Author search.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip