Where to start?
Use the Catalogue TAB to find primary resources such as books, exam papers, specific journals and audio-visual items. Use the A-Z databases TAB to identify and locate individual articles in journals. Use the LibSearch TAB to perform a Google like search across ALL Library resources, including journal articles.

For advice in using these tools, use the HELP! link, including the Library Skills Online tutorials
Keywords and descriptors - when searching catalogues and databases, be ready to use a wide range of terms, both general and precise, and in combinations. For example:
| autism spectrum disorders | special education | special needs | gifted children and curriculum | disabilities education teach* |
| gifted children | learning disabilities | integration | inclusion | ADHD |
If your search returns too many items, use narrower or combinations of terms. If you do not find enough, try broader terms. The thesauri listed below can help your find broader, narrower and related terms.
Key Resources - Reference Material
- Handbook of Special Education [electronic resource]. 2011This title is an appropriate reference for anyone interested in the state of special education: its research base, current issues and practices, and future trends.
- The SAGE handbook of special education. 2007
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
- The A to Z of learning disabilities / Carol Turkington, Joseph R. Harris. 2006This Encyclopedia explains a complex group of medical and psychological disorders by detailing recognized learning disabilities and how to identify them, providing information on obtaining a diagnosis, and discussing how to find the best treatments and aids
- Concise encyclopedia of special education / edited by Cecil R. Reynolds, Elaine Fletcher-Janzen. 2002The Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education, Second Edition is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, dozens of biographies, this complete reference is an indispensable guide for professionals, academics, and students. Named an American Library Association Top 25 Reference of the Year i
Contact Us

Curriculum
Faculty Librarians:
Albury-Wodonga: Heather Hulett
Bendigo: Tracy Robertson
Bundoora: Kerry Sullivan
Shepparton: Iris Ambrose
Mildura: Maureen Speed

Loading...
