Joanna Briggs Institute

Reference list

Joanna Briggs Institute. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp-pp. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Joanna Briggs Institute. (2009). Nurse-led cardiac clinics for adults with coronary heart disease.   Best Practice: Evidence-Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, 9(1), 1-6. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Joanna Briggs Institute. (2009). Nurse-led cardiac clinics for adults with coronary heart disease [Best practice sheet]. JBI Database of Best Practice Information Sheets and Technical Reports, 9(1), 1-6. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • These sheets are individually paginated, so the issue number is required.
  • The periodical may appear as Best Practice: Evidence-Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, or it may appear as JBI Database of Best Practice Information Sheets and Technical Reports. Use the name that appears on the sheet you are citing.
  • If it is necessary to distinguish best practice sheets from technical reports in the same issue of the combined form of the resource, it may be helpful to include a material type with the title (e.g., [Best practice sheet]) as shown above.
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.

 

Reference list

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of sheet [Consumer information sheet]. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Bentley, A. (2011). High blood pressure: Lifestyle interventions [Consumer information sheet]. Retrieved from Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources website: http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • Consumer information sheets are irregularly published by JBI (i.e., not a periodical). They are only available in the database called Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources. They could be treated like a normal web page or web document.
  • However, if you wish to provide more information for your readers about the origin and likely credibility of the document, the sheets can be referenced like an authored report from a nongovernmental organisation and include the “Agency” name in the retrieval statement (APA, pp. 191-192, 206).
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.
Reference list

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article [Evidence summary]. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Read, S. (2013). Home-based versus centre-based cardiac rehabilitation [Evidence summary]. Retrieved from Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources website: http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • Evidence summaries are individually published by JBI (i.e., not a periodical). They are only available in the database called Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources. They could be treated like a normal web page or web document.
  • However, if you wish to provide more information for your readers about the origin and likely credibility of the document, the sheets can be referenced like an authored report from a nongovernmental organisation and include the “Agency” name in the retrieval statement (APA, pp. 191-192, 206).\
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.
Reference list

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article [Recommended practice]. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Xue, Y. (2011). Endotracheal tube: Extubation [Recommended practice]. Retrieved from Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources website: http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • Recommended practice guides are individually published by JBI (i.e., not a periodical). They are only available in the database called Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources. They could be treated like a normal web page or web document.
  • However, if you wish to provide more information for your readers about the origin and likely credibility of the document, the sheets can be referenced like an authored report from a nongovernmental organisation and include the “Agency” name in the retrieval statement (APA, pp. 191-192, 206).
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.
Reference list

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp-pp. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

McReynolds, P. M., & Jordan, Z. (2014). Health professionals' experiences of teamwork education in acute hospital settings: A systematic review protocol. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 12(8), 78-89. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Gyi, A. A., & Lockwood, G. (2011). A systematic review of the experiences of medical graduates in adjusting to rural and remote Australian medical practice [Systematic review protocol]. JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, 9(16 Suppl.), S52-S66. Retrieved from joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • Until 2012, each year of this periodical was continuously paginated, so the issue number is excluded for those references.
  • From 2013, each issue begins at page 1, so the issue number must be included.
  • The journal may appear as JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, or it may appear as JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports. Use the name that appears on the article you are citing.
  • If the word "protocol" does not already appear in the title, it may be helpful to include a material type with the title (e.g., [Systematic review protocol]) as shown above.
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.

 

Reference list

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp-pp. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Romano, M., Schultz, T., Tai, A., & White, S. (2014). The diagnostic test accuracy of clinical swallow assessment for oropharyngeal aspiration: A systematic review. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 12(8), 259-329. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Siah, R., & Childs, C. (2011). A systematic review of surgical infection scoring systems used in surgical patients. JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, 9, 2627-2683. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • Until 2012, each year of this periodical was continuously paginated, so the issue number is excluded for those references.
  • From 2013, each issue begins at page 1, so the issue number must be included.
  • The journal may appear as JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, or it may appear as JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports. Use the name that appears on the article you are citing.
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.
Reference list

Joanna Briggs Institute. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp-pp. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Joanna Briggs Institute. (2009). Nurse-led cardiac clinics for adults with coronary heart disease.   Best Practice: Evidence-Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, 9(1), 1-6. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Joanna Briggs Institute. (2009). Nurse-led cardiac clinics for adults with coronary heart disease [Best practice sheet]. JBI Database of Best Practice Information Sheets and Technical Reports, 9(1), 1-6. Retrieved from http://joannabriggslibrary.org/

Notes
  • These reports are individually paginated, so the issue number is required.
  • The journal may appear as JBI Best Practice Technical Reports, or it may appear as JBI Database of Best Practice Information Sheets and Technical Reports. Use the name that appears on the article you are citing.
  • If the word “technical report” does not appear in the title and it is necessary to distinguish technical reports from best practice sheets in the same issue, it may be helpful to include a material type with the title (e.g., [Technical report]) as shown above.
  • You are encouraged to provide page or paragraph numbers especially when it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.

In-text referencing

Direct Quotes:
You are required to use page numbers for quotes

Author notes:

Include the surname/s of the author and year. For example,

  • No author (note capitalisation)
    The Life of Insects (1979) or (The Life of Insects, 1979)
  • One author
    Seaton (2018) or (Seaton, 2018)
  • Two authors
    Grant and Grant (2018) or (Grant & Grant, 2008)
  • Three to five authors
    First in-text reference: Bradley, Ramirez, Soo and Walsh (2006) or (Bradley, Ramirez, Soo, & Walsh, 2006)

    Subsequent in-text references: Bradley et al. (2006) or (Bradley et al., 2006)
  • Six or more authors
    Fraser et al. (2014) or (Fraser et al., 2014)
  • Group / corporate author
    La Trobe University (2018) or (La Trobe University, 2018)

Author Prominent

Larkin (2004) claims that Paine's writings "represented a turning point in the revolution" (p. 10).

Bakris et al. (2010) found this applied to "15 patients (4%) in the darusentan treatment" (p. 828)

Information Prominent

"Paine's choice of metaphors, diction, syntax, and evidence were crucial to his success" (Larkin, 2004, p. 26)

It was found that "individuals can discriminate between members of their own and a closely related sympatric species on the basis of song and beak morphology" (Grant & Grant, 2008, p. 78).

Paraphrasing:
You may include page numbers if it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.

Author Prominent

Benesch (2001) described the function of the rhetorical-grammatical process chart.

Chambers et al. (2013) state the benefit of working collaboratively.

Information Prominent

It was suggested that the packaging made a difference (Bakris et al., 2010).

International students are reporting higher levels than domestic students (Australian Council for Educational Research, 2010).