Adding records to EndNote

Exporting references from databases

Using the direct export function in a database saves time because relevant information is automatically populated into the reference fields in your library.

There are four basic steps to export references:

1. Run a search in a database

2. Select (or mark) the reference/s you want to add to your library

3. Select the export, download or save records option in the database and choose the appropriate EndNote option. You may also be able to specify the content you want included (e.g., citation, abstract, reference list, etc.)

4. Click on the downloaded file and the reference will be automatically added to your library. Check that it is formatted correctly by selecting the style in the drop-down menu and checking it in the Preview panel.

 

Exporting records from Library search

1. Enter your search terms in the search window on the Library's home page.

2. When you find a resource you want to include in your library, click the three dots in the right-hand corner of the record, as shown below:

library catalogue entry

 

3. Select the EndNote desktop (or EndNote Web) option. 

Library catalogue export options

 

4. Select the download button (EndNote desktop) or follow the prompts to log on to EndNote web. The reference is automatically added to EndNote Web at this point.

5. Click on the downloaded file and it will be automatically added to your library (EndNote desktop).

Always preview your reference it ensure it is accurate and make corrections as needed.

 

Records are entered manually when they are not available from databases.

To enter a record:

1. Select the New Reference icon

EndNote interface showing new reference icon

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

2. Select an appropriate reference type. The reference type determines the fields available for data entry.

EndNote reference type

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

3. Enter information in the fields required for your referencing style. Fields not required can be left blank.

4. Save and close the reference by clicking on the 'x' in the top right corner to close the screen.

5. Preview the record in the reference panel in your output style to ensure you are not missing any information.

EndNote record preview

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

Author names

  • Authors can be entered either first-and-middle name and then last (family) name (e.g., John Robert Smith); or they can be entered last name, comma, first-and-middle name (e.g., Smith, John Robert)
  • Corporate authors (e.g., organisations) are entered with a comma at the end of the name (e.g., La Trobe University,). If the organisation's name has a comma in it, you must put a double comma at the end of the name (e.g., Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations,,)
  • Each author must be on a separate line

EndNote manual author entry

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

Year

  • Enter a four digit year of publication (e.g., 2015)
  • You can also enter text such as "in press' or "unpublished"

Titles

  • Enter journal names in full - do not use abbreviations
  • Do not add full stops or other punctuation at the end of titles
  • Use capitalisation required by the bibliographic style. For example, initial words of titles and sub-titles are capitalised in APA style (e.g., Help-seeking and achievement orientation: Perspectives from attribution)

Place Published

  • Enter the place the item was published, e.g., New York, NY (some styles require an abbreviation of the state)

Pages

  • Page numbering can be entered as a full range (e.g., 1165-1169) or truncated (e.g., 1165-9). EndNote will format the numbering according to the bibliographic style.

The following table contains a list of the minimum fields required for displaying a complete reference in most styles, but you must check with your own style requirements. 

 

Book Author, Title, Year, Publisher, City, Edition (if not the first)
Journal article Author, Title, Year, Journal Title, Volume, Issue, Pages, DOI (if applicable)
Electronic article Author, Title, Year, Journal Title, Volume, Issue, Pages, DOI (if applicable), Date accessed, URL (or Database name)
Electronic book Author, Title, Year, Publisher, Date accessed, URL (or Database name)
Web page Author (or site producer), Title (of site), Year (of publication or last update), Date accessed, URL