Finding full text

EndNote can locate the full text PDF article for some of the references you have added to your library. 

EndNote uses several methods to search for full text publications, including a DOI and Web of Science Core Collection full text links. To optimise results ensure your EndNote preferences are set as detailed below and use La Trobe Library's online resources gateway. If you are off-campus use the La Trobe VPN Client.

If you set up your preferences in EndNote as outlined both the Open URL and Find Full Text functions in EndNote will be enabled.

 

To edit EndNote preferences:

1. Select Edit > Preferences

2. In the left column list select Find Full Text

3. In the right column, select the four check boxes: Web of Science Full Text LInks, DOI, Pub Med LinkOut and OpenURL

4. In the Open URL Path text box enter: https://search.lib.latrobe.edu.au/openurl/61LATROBE/LATROBE_SERVICES_PAGE

5. In the Authenticate with text box enter: http://ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/login?url=  

Find full text preferences

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

6. In the left column select URLs and Links

7. In the right column leave the Connection Log section as is

8. In the ISI Base URL text box enter: http://ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/login?url=http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi

9. In the OpenURL Arguments text box change the first part of the text from “?sid=ISI:WoS” (without quotes) to “?sid=ISI:endnote” (without quotes).  

10. Select Apply and then OK to save your preferences.

When using either the Find Full Text or OpenURL Link options you will initially be asked to enter your La Trobe credentials.  Once you have logged in you will see a database list. Do not click on any of the databases but instead on the Continue button in the bottom left corner of the popup window.

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

To find the full text:

1. Select the corresponding records in your EndNote library.

2. Click the Find full text icon.

EndNote find full text

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

3. EndNote searches for the full text. When finished it displays of summary of PDFs found. A paperclip icon appears in the file attachments field for the corresponding references. 

EndNote find full text results

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

Attaching files

To attach files stored locally to a reference, click on the paperclip icon next to the reference (shown when the preview / PDF panel is turned on), locate the file and attach it.  

EndNote reference / PDF panel

EndNote reference managment software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018.

 

Note that only PDF attachments will appear in the preview / reference panel. Word, Excel or other attachments can be accessed by double-clicking into the reference and navigating to the attachments field. 

If you are using EndNote Online in addition to EndNote desktop, any PDF or other documents that you add to a reference will be synchronised to your online account so that you can access them from anywhere.