Welcome to the La Trobe University Library

If you are a La Trobe College Australia student, this guide is for you. It provides you with information on how to use library materials. The guide specifically provides information on:

• Accessing the Library homepage
• How to borrow items from the Library
• What databases are available and how to access them both on campus and at home
• How to find your login information including password assistance
• What services are available to you to get further support for your assignments and accessing the Library

The following username formats are used to connect to University services with your La Trobe College Australia password:

• For library computers & printing, enter your LTM Username: e.g. LTM7654321 (LTM and username)
• For Wi-Fi access, connect to Eduroam and enter your LTM email address: e.g. LTM7654321@students.ltu.edu.au
• To add money to your card through MyPrint Recharge use your LTM Username

If you require assistance in resetting your La Trobe College Australia password, please contact the La Trobe College staff. For Library access issues, contact Library staff.

La Trobe College Students have a My Print account that uses their LTM Username (for example: LTM7654321) and must add credit to the account to enable printing. This can be done via My Print Recharge with Visa, MasterCard, American Express and PayPal.

Find more information on printing at the IT support printing page.

The University has a cashless policy - no transaction can be paid with cash.

You can borrow up to 30 items at a time for a period of 28 days from any La Trobe campus library. You can renew each item up to 2 times.

When you log in to the library website for the first time you will need to set up a password.

Follow these steps:

1. At the sign in page, click or tap Other borrower
2. Click or tap Reset password
3. Enter your library username (your La Trobe College student number)

You will be sent an email prompting you to set up your password.

To login to your Library account, follow these steps:

1. At the sign in page, click or tap Other borrower
2. Enter your USER ID (your La Trobe College student number)
3. Enter your PASSWORD
4. Click or tap LOGIN

To request an item, access your account details and find out information about overdues, explore these links below:

There are a range of resources you can access from anywhere, on campus only or freely available.

Databases accessible from anywhere

Your library password will allow access to the following databases from anywhere:

To login into the databases, follow these steps:

1. At the sign in page, select the checkbox labelled "I'm not an LTU student/staff member".
2. Enter your ID Number (i.e. your student ID)
3. Enter your Library password
4. Click or tap Login

Databases accessible on campus only

Some databases or online resources are only accessible using your La Trobe College Australia username and password on a Library computer. You can connect to the Wi-Fi, but you won't be able to access these other Library online resources using your laptop or mobile devices.

A full list of databases can be found on our Library collections website.

Open access sources

You have access to a range of resources that are freely available online. Explore this Open Access library guide for information on peer-reviewed open access resources that may be helpful to you.

In addition to the resources listed, as La Trobe College Australia students, you have access to some other services from the Library as well:

Study skills

Need to know about study skills, assessments, finding information, writing, referencing, academic English, academic integrity and maths?

Referencing is an important component of your assignments. Watch the video below to understand why!

Ask a Librarian

If you have any questions about finding the right information for your assessment, referencing or anything library related, you can connect with us via:

• email at loans@latrobe.edu.au
• chat, phone, email or in person at the Library desk in the Help Zone

Peer Learning Advisors

Peer Learning Advisors (PLAs) are experienced La Trobe University students specially trained to help others with study and assessments. PLAs come from many different discipline areas and are available at every campus. They can help with:

• understanding and unpacking assessment tasks
• planning and structuring essays and reports
• note-taking and study strategies
• referencing
• time management
• adjusting to university life.

Visit them at the Bundoora Library on Level 1 in the Library Support Zone. Please check up-to-date PLA support hours for drop in times during the La Trobe University semesters.