Is it Peer Reviewed or Scholarly?Using databases to find journal articles
GatewaysImage CollectionsOnline textsSocieties & AssociationsTopic Resources
Reference MaterialSearching the catalogue
Australasian HistoryAmerican HistoryEuropean History
Australian HistoryEuropean History
This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History   Tags: history  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2015 URL: http://latrobe.libguides.com/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Trove

Trove is an online search engine developed by the National Library of Australia. At the click of a button, you can access a huge repository of Australian material.

 

Museum Victoria

Photos from Beechworth Lunatic Asylum can be found at 

 

Welcome

This guide provides information on how to research your history subjects.

It includes information on how to find books, journal and newspaper articles. It also provides links to web sites and other resources that might be useful to your research.

Click on the above tabs and follow each step to:

  • Identify your search terms
  • Find books
  • Find journal articles
  • Browse subject specific internet sites   
  • Reference your work and write up your essay

This guide is certainly not a comprehensive guide to the literature, but we hope that it will be a useful starting point from which you will carry out your own research

 

Planning your essay

The Assignment Calculator

Put in the date your assignment is due and calculate.  You will get a step by step guide to what to do and when to have it completed. 

 

The Argus Index (1870 -1889)

La Trobe University History Department was involved in a project to prepare an index for The Argus.

Funding was provided to complete indexing of 20 years of this newspaper of record. The index covers 1870 to 1889.

What is a newspaper of record? As defined by the Oxford English Dictionary it is “an authoritative and complete repository of factual information” .

The indexes can be found here.

These indexes give researchers the means to thoroughly search the newspaper through thousands of alphabetically listed subject headings. If users download the PDF file for a specific year, eg 1870, they will find that the peculiar story details are electronically linked to The Argus via Trove.

Other indexes for The Argus are available in print form in the library and are available via the catalogue.


Important News:

Bound issues of The Argus newpaper are now located at the Melbourne Campus library (details) and can be consulted – ask at the library's Inquiry Desk.

The newpaper, as an electronic archive, is available at Trove.

 

Early history of public transport

This page outlines everything about PTV - public transport Victoria.

And

 Where to find out more

The Department of Transport library has a unique and comprehensive historical railway collection. You can also visit the following websites:

Culture Victoria


Heritage Victoria


Historic government gazettes (1836 to 1997)


National Library of Australia Pictures Catalogue


PictureVictoria


Public Record Office Victoria Public Transport Corporation photographic archive


State Library of Victoria Pictures catalogue


State Library of Victoria catalogue

Contacts

Mary Brian-Branov

Senior Learning Advisor (Library)

Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce

Curricular Services

Library | La Trobe University | Bundoora Campus, 3086

T: +61 3 9479 2919 | E: m.brian@latrobe.edu.au | W: www.latrobe.edu.au/library

 

 

 

Australian Govt History Resources

From the Australian Governmenrt Web Site

 

Mayday Hills Lunatic Asylum

 

Tanks from Newport

 

Supporting the Changing Research Practices of Historians

This study, funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, uncovers the needs of today’s historians and provides guidance for how research support providers can better serve them. The report discusses areas such as content discovery, information management, scholarly analysis, collaboration, library use, the writing process, professional interactions, and publication, among others.

Published December 07, 2012
Download Report

 

Supporting the Changing Research Practices of Historians

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip