Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to this La Trobe University Library guide to LGBTIQA+ resources.
This guide will help you discover the following:
- Services available to support LGBTIQA+ communities at La Trobe and in Victoria (Connect)
- Some of our current favourite non-fiction and fiction books, including those by La Trobe authors (Read)
- Health, history, education, Indigenous studies, law and legal studies & business keywords, databases and journals (Research)
- Online videos from our collection and beyond (Watch)
- Podcasts and radio programs (Listen)
We hope you enjoy the guide. Let us know what you think!
We know it isn't always safe for everyone to come out and that you might not want others to know you're looking at these resources and so have a quick exit button on this guide and some tips for hiding your browser history.
- Web browsers (eSafety Commissioner)Understand how your actions can be tracked online and how to browse more safely in private mode.
“The ability to see yourself in the past is essential to forming a sense of belonging in the world.” Archie Barry wrote in 2018. “It seems now I’ve naturally fallen into a role that many queer and gender diverse people fall into: that of informal researcher. We silently horde content – URLs, zines, ads, pamphlets, stickers, mp3s, books, posters – to build a personalised buffer, a kind of archive armour, between the self and the cis-hetero world.”
With increasing transphobia in Australia and abroad that mirrors homophobia from the recent past, and ongoing attempts to divide queer people, it is an important time for queer and trans communities to build this armour both as individuals and as a community united in solidarity.
This guide will help you build your own archive armour from queer and trans research.
Queer Careers: Working for Community, Care and Change
- Queer Careers (past event)An LGBTIQA+ Careers Panel hosted by our own LGBTIQA+ Counsellor Rebecca Gomo, open to all, featuring members of the La Trobe community sharing how being part of the LGBTIQA+ community has influenced their careers and the work they do. This will be recorded and posted to My La Trobe the following week for all to view and revisit.
- Queer View Mirror: Our Members Be Unlimited with Sam WallmanSam Wallman chats about the radical history of the union movement, radical hope, trying to start a union within Amazon's melbourne warehouses and the shared solidarity between the union and queer rights movements.
- How do you do that? Clare O'Hanlon on the Australian Queer ArchivesInterview with Clare O’Hanlon, a librarian by day and an archivist by night. We’ll be chatting about their work at the Australian Queer Archives, referred to as AQuA throughout. We chat about how their two jobs inform one another. Plus what the Australian Queer Archives are, and their importance.
- Pride series from RED Alert blogStories from LGBTIQA+ researchers at La Trobe.
Writing Queer Lives
- Writing Queer Lives (resources related to past event)In the first of a new events series, Writers on Campus, we celebrate Pride Week with ‘Writing Queer Lives’, a conversation between author and activist Dennis Altman, and historian and memoirist Yves Rees. Dennis Altman is the author of 15 books including Homosexual: Oppression and Liberation and Defying gravity: a political life, a La Trobe legend for many decades, acclaimed sexuality theorist, and now the Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow. Yves Rees is a lecturer in History, co-host of the podcast Archive Fever, award-winning essayist, and author of the memoir All About Yves. The event will be hosted by author and creative writing lecturer Kelly Gardiner.
- Live: Queering the Archive (Archive Fever)What do we know about queer lives and stories from the past? In this special live episode, Clare and Yves sit down with ACU Associate Professor Noah Riseman and Julie Peters, co-founder of Transgender Victoria, at the Wheeler Centre.
Some new books mentioned in Writing Queer Lives:
