Classics and Ancient History

The Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (the APGRD) is a research project based in the Classics Faculty at the University of Oxford. It investigates the performance of ancient texts from Greek tragedy to Roman epic, in any medium and any period, from stage to screen, from antiquity to the present day.

[Searchable database of over] 300,000 [art] images from 2,000 sources, 8,000 locations and 30,000 artists. The site offers an excellent quality of image and metadata (captions and keywords) as well as the legal right to use the images within your institution. Search all media including photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology & ethnography, history, science & medicine, decorative arts and artifacts."

Humanities index retrospective, 1907-1984 indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to over 1,000,000 articles, including citations of over 155,000 books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.

Luna Insight allows faculty, students and staff to use a vast library of digital images. In addition to large museum collections, Pomona College features many locally-built collections representing the work of its faculty. Multiple images can be viewed side-by-side within Insight, and users can create their own collections of images online. " -- http://sax.pomona.edu/luna/Insight provides digital image collections and tools in support of teaching, learning, and research. Some collections were developed at La Trobe University and can only be accessed by La Trobe staff and students. A number of collections are open access. Image collections include; Australian Zooarchaeology, the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Deneia Archive, the Farber Gravestone Collection, the Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, the Hoover Institution Poster Collection, A Record in Stone collection, the National Palace Museum, a Zoology collection and various Anatomy collections.

Contains every volume published by Loeb, including the original Greek and Latin alongside English translations of key works by ancient Greek and Roman writers. The Loeb editions are renown worldwide for their accurate translations and reliability.

Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world

Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO), the home of scholarly research reviews, is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The collection of Oxford Handbooks is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Perseus is a non-profit enterprise, located in the Department of the Classics, Tufts University. Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is an electronic data bank of ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453 A.D. It is updated quarterly with new authors and works. Information about the authors and works included in the TLG is stored in a database, knowns as the 'Canon of Greek Authors and Works.'