Papers of D. H. Borchardt
Collection Note
The Borchardt collection consists of papers and photographs relating to Dietrich Hans Borchdart's time at La Trobe University. The collection includes; awards conferred, correspondences, a photo album, library borrowing card, and other miscellaneous items.
Some items from this collection have been digitised, and are available through OPAL here. Additionally, you can find the collection in the Library Catalogue here.
This collection can be accessed at La Trobe University Bundoora campus in the Archivarium upon request. Requests should by made in writing to archives@latrobe.edu.au.
Extent of the Collection
UA2-001
Papers, including awards conferred, correspondences, library borrowing card, and his book Through a clouded mirror; reminiscences of a working life, plus other miscellaneous items dated between 1905 and 1992.
UA2-002
Photo Album presented to D. H. Borchardt upon his retirement. Contains photographs of staff, special events and library spaces. Images date from 1977 to 1992.
Provenance
Librarian and bibliographer, Dietrich Hans Borchardt was born in Hanover, Germany. He emigrated to New Zealand where he gained his library diploma. He worked at the University of Otago and the University of Tasmania, before becoming the foundation librarian (and first staff member) of La Trobe University in 1965. Upon his retirement in 1981, the library was named after him.
He wrote extensively on many topics and was a strong advocate for the profession of Librarianship. In 1993, he published his autobiography Through a clouded mirror: reminiscences of a working life. Borchardt was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (OAM) in 1982 for service to librarianship.
References and Further Research
John Horacek. (1997). Obituaries Australia. Borchardt, Dietrich Hans (1916–1997). https://oa.anu.edu.au/obituary/borchardt-dietrich-hans-16360/text28320