Get started
Research and academic skills
-
Achieve@UniLearn how to analyse your topic and start your research, develop your library search and academic databases skills.
-
BorrowingInformation about borrowing at La Trobe University Library and from other libraries
-
Help and trainingHelp guide for using the library, including training classes, how to find items on the shelf, and other useful tips.
Get background information
-
A dictionary of the Internet (4th ed)
Contains over 2700 terms related to the internet including software, security, e-commerce and infrastructure. -
A dictionary of computer science
Contains over 3500 entries, this authoritative guide to computing covers all aspects of the discipline.
-
Cryptography and Network Security: Principles and Practice
by
This introductory text provides a practical survey of both the principles and practice of cryptography and network security. -
Cybersecurity Essentials
by
An accessible introduction to cybersecurity concepts and practices. -
Interaction Design
by
An ideal resource for learning the interdisciplinary skills needed for interaction design, human-computer interaction, information design, web design, and ubiquitous computing. -
Network fundamentals: CCNA exploration companion guide
The official supplemental textbook for the Network Fundamentals course in the Cisco® Networking Academy® CCNA® Exploration curriculum version 4. -
Python for Everybody
by
This OER text is designed to introduce students to programming and software development through the lens of exploring data. -
Think Java
by
This Openly Accessible text is a hands-on introduction to computer science and programming.
Check if a journal is peer reviewed
You can tell if a journal is peer reviewed, scholarly, trade or popular by looking it up in the Ulrichsweb platform that the library subscribes to:
- Ulrichsweb
Not sure if the article you have found is from a peer reviewed journal or not? Search for the journal title in Ulrichsweb, and look for the black and white striped referee's jumper. Database of detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials/periodicals published internationally. Includes academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.