Search tips & database tutorials
Developing a concept map
Databases and database tutorials
Database:
-
Cochrane LibraryPre-appraised database including systematic reviews of the effects of health care treatments or interventions.
Tutorial:
Database:
-
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)International database covering all aspects of dentistry.
Database:
-
EmbaseExcerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Tutorial:
-
Embase (Ovid) advanced search tutorialThis course covers Advanced Search including
building a search
an overview of searching with subject headings
Explode/Focus functions
keyword searching
combining and using limits
results options
and how to save your search.
Please note: the tutorial has been created using MEDLINE (Ovid). The same instructions apply when searching Embase (Ovid) however, there may be a slight variation.
Database:
-
MEDLINE (Ovid) 1946 -Citations and abstracts from biomedicine also covers much of the literature in biology and biochemistry, as well as fields such as molecular evolution.
Tutorial:
-
MEDLINE (Ovid) advanced search tutorialThis course covers Advanced Search including
building a search
an overview of searching with subject headings
Explode/Focus functions
keyword searching
combining and using limits
results options
and how to save your search.
Please note: MEDLINE and PubMed provide access to near the same content. The significant difference is environment the content is delivered. PubMed is a free database accessible via the web. While, MEDLINE (Ovid) is purchased and only accessible by members of the purchasing institution. MEDLINE (Ovid) offers researches the ability to perform a more comprehensive and focused search.
Database:
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Contains links to the full text of articles from many of our electronic journals
Tutorial:
-
PubMed tutorialIncludes interactive tutorial by Duke University
-
PubMed Online TrainingVarious tutorials from U.S. National Library of Medicine
Please note: MEDLINE and PubMed provide access to near the same content. The significant difference is environment the content is delivered. PubMed is a free database accessible via the web. While, MEDLINE (Ovid) is purchased and only accessible by members of the purchasing institution. MEDLINE (Ovid) offers researches the ability to perform a more comprehensive and focused search.
Database:
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowIndexes scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Features tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Tutorial:
-
Searching for documents in ScopusThis tutorial demonstrates how to use key terms to create a Document search, make your searches more specific, and work with previous searches.
Database:
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary research covering scholarly journals, books, proceedings, published data sets, and patents. Includes cited reference searching.
Tutorial:
Tutorials can be found via Clarivate
Database tutorials
Learn advanced search techniques using both Subject Headings and key search terms. Click image below to access tutorial.
This type of searching is also applicable to Embase, PsycINFO & AMED although these databases use different Subject Heading systems with differing functionality.
Learn how to set up Google Scholar preferences to find items held by La Trobe University Library when you are searching off campus.