Australian literature resources
- AustLit This link opens in a new windowAustLit indexes and describes Australian literature, writers and writing from 1780 to the present day. It includes critical articles and creative writing in full text.
- AustLit BlackWords - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers and StorytellersUsers are advised that AustLit contains information that may be culturally sensitive, including images of deceased persons. In addition, as a database that records information about Australian culture and history, AustLit, and the BlackWords material housed within it, contains terminology that reflects attitudes or language used at the time of publication that would be considered inappropriate today.
- Trauma Texts: Reading Australian Life Narratives of Trauma, 1990-2015A specialist AustLit research project, Trauma Texts investigates trauma in Australian life narratives from 1990 to 2015. the enriched bibliographical records catalogue the types of trauma represented and the geographical and temporal settings of trauma narratives.
- Writing Disability in AustraliaWriting Disability in Australia aggregates writing on disability in AustLit into a searchable index, with the aim of drawing attention to the ways in which Australian writers have represented disability.
- Asylum Seeker Narratives A Resource for Researcherslists works that include or examine first-person accounts of people seeking asylum in Australia presented as a series of Research Trails.
- Diversity in Australian Speculative Fiction : A Bibliographical ExhibitionThis exhibition is a curated collection of AustLit records for Australian speculative fiction that falls under the broad rubric of 'diversity'.
There are lots of different publications in Informit and it is not always easy to distinguish between them at first glance.
There are peer reviewed journal articles and books which could be useful secondary sources to help you find research and contextual information, and there are Australian news and media archives, political publications, literary, arts, culture, industry and trade publications – which could all be useful primary sources about particular events or from a particular time and place as they go back quite far. Alternatively, they could be used as secondary sources if they are more recent and you need more contextual information than journal articles and books provide.
The types of publications include:
- Peer reviewed journal articles (e.g. Oral History Australia Journal, Aboriginal History, Gay and Lesbian Law Journal, Lilith: A Feminist History Journal)
- EBooks (e.g. including many published by Aboriginal Studies Press)
- Australian news and media archives
- Government and legal publications
- Political publications (e.g. Green Left Weekly, Socialist Alternatives)
- Literary, arts and culture publications, including poetry (e.g. Overland, The Lifted Brow, Kill your darlings)
- Australian industry and trade publications
You need to click on the title of an article to view the complete record, find out more about the publication (particularly whether or not it was peer reviewed), and access the full text.
You can also browse publications by alphabetical order, select one of them, and browse by year or search within it.
- Informit Complete This link opens in a new windowAustralasian scholarly research for the education, research and business sectors.
This package provides access to the full suite of Informit products, with full text cover-to-cover access to journals, monographs, conference proceedings and other research material.
- Examining Australian queer young adult fiction: there’s not enough queer in AusQueerYA By: Jordi KerrThis is the first instalment of a four part series on the state of queer young adult fiction in Australia.
- Queer young adult fiction: examining the underrepresentation of queer voices By: Jordi KerrThis is the second instalment of a four part series on the state of queer young adult fiction in Australia.
- Examining queer young adult fiction: Systemic discrimination in the publishing world By: Jordi KerrThis is the third instalment of a four-part series on the state of queer young adult fiction in Australia.
- Examining queer young adult fiction: The way forward By: Jordi KerrThis is the final instalment of a four-part series on the state of queer young adult fiction in Australia.
- Australian LGBTQ YAThis is a blog dedicated to Young Adult (YA) and Junior Fiction with LGBTQ content written by Australian authors.
- Bookbird : news bulletin of the International Board on Books for Young PeopleInternational journal about children's and young adult literature.
- Inside a dogA site by young people, for young people about books. Hosted by the State Library of Victoria.
- "Diversity" Book Lists on GoodreadsCrowdsourced book recommendations
International literature sources
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowComplete guide to alternative and radical media in the United States. Some full-text material.
- Alexander Street PressLarge-scale digital collections in the humanities and social sciences.
- LGBT Thought and Culture collectionAccess key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day.
- Lamda LiteraryGateway to LGBTIQ+ literary publishers, awards, reviews, organisations, and more resources in the US.