Get started
Research and academic skills
- Finding informationAchieve@uni guide to developing a search strategy, sources and types of information, and how you might use them.
- Evaluating informationLearn how to assess the credibility of information sources, especially those from the web.
- WritingAchieve@Uni guide to writing, including how to write an annotated bibliography and literature review.
- Referencing helpTips about about how and why to reference, including the Academic Referencing Tool.
Terminology and definitions
To help you understand your topic and get your research started, check for definitions in a dictionary or look at an encyclopedia. This can also be a way to find additional keywords for your search.
A Dictionary of JournalismISBN: 9780199646241
A Dictionary of Media and CommunicationOver 3,400 entries covering both interpersonal and mass communication, including advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, telecommunications, and visual culture, and many other topics.
Encyclopedia of Public RelationsThe first and most authoritative compilation of the subject, it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies provides authoritative summaries of a variety of communications and media topics. Articles are written and reviewed by academic experts and describe the key concepts and resources of each topic.
You may like to use this database as a starting point for your search. It might help you to understand the scope of your topic, find key resources to use in your assignment, or identify keywords for your search.
Browse by subject or search for your topic. Note the date the article was last modified and be aware that further developments may have occurred since.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineA collection of discipline-focused, online guides to essential literature across a broad range of subjects.