Getting started step by step

• Follow the instructions in your assignment and choose a topic of interest to you personally
• Have a quick search in databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL to see what literature is available on your topic
• Assess whether you have enough literature or whether you need to broaden your search, or choose another topic or database

• Find journal articles on your topic by searching appropriate databases using either keywords or subject terms

Considerations:

• Reread the question then quickly scan the abstract, introduction and conclusion of each article to ensure they are relevant
• Select the type of literature that will help you to link together your arguments, making it easier for the reader to follow
• Select peer-reviewed journal articles, ensuring that the arguments presented and data analysis have been checked by experts in the field prior to publication
• Assess whether you have enough literature or whether you need to do another search or choose another topic

• If searching a citation/abstract only database, use the Full Text Finder to locate the full text in the Library database
• In most cases you can read online or download and save a PDF
• Use Document Delivery if you find an article that is not available in full text through La Trobe University Library

• Read, summarise or describe each article, noting your findings and impressions
• Examine each article for strengths and weaknesses, and validity of findings (use the evaluation template)
• Look for points of difference between the articles
• Look for common arguments or themes in the articles you have summarised
• Notice the same authors' names appearing in articles - likely they are the 'leading authors' in the field. As you read more widely, you will identify key researchers in your topic
• Note there may be differing opinions within the articles selected, for example opinions on treatment options
• Try to extract the unique concepts of the article which are central to a full understanding of the topic
• Summarise key texts to provide a useful step between note taking and integration into the review
• Note that researchers may use different methods such as quantitative or qualitative studies

Provide a clear structure

• Introduction to explain how your review is organised
• Headings that show how the strands of your argument are incorporated
• Conclusion where the key arguments are summarised concisely

Also include:

• Explanation of the main purpose and scope of the articles
• Descriptions of the content
• Evaluation of the article including study design, any possible bias or weaknesses
• Value of the work in contributing to literature in this field
• Author credentials, currency and intended audience