Where to search
Databases
Databases contain resources from different sources and while there may be some overlap between databases, they each contain unique collections of information. To ensure your systematic search is comprehensive, it will need to be replicated across multiple databases.
MEDLINE
In health research it is recommended you formulate your search strategy firstly in MEDLINE within the OVID environment when appropriate.
MEDLINE allows the user to undertake a comprehensive search strategy, providing information such as Scope of Medical Subject Heading (MeSH), keywords used for and a Note field providing information about the MeSH.
Please note:
- For effective systematic searching, search at least two databases.
- MEDLINE and PubMed provide access to similar content. See MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
A comprehensive list of MEDLINE searching tips is available here
Types of databases
Finding evidence involves searching health databases.
As no one database contains all the available health literature, it is important to widen your search. Depending on your topic, consider the following:
Pre-appraised/filtered databases
Several databases provide assessments of original studies as well as access to systematic reviews which help summarise the results from a number of studies. This is referred to as secondary literature.
- Cochrane LibraryPre-appraised database including systematic reviews of the effects of health care treatments or interventions.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care tool that provides latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
- Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new windowWide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. Includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- OTseeker This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
- PEDroPhysiotherapy Evidence Database provides access to details of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines.
- SpeechBITEProvides access to intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
Primary/Unfiltered databases
Contains original studies published in journals, often referred to as unfiltered or primary resources. Where available, searching these databases is more effective if you use a combination of keywords and subject headings (see 'database tutorials')
- MEDLINE (Ovid) 1946 - This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts from biomedicine also covers much of the literature in biology and biochemistry, as well as fields such as molecular evolution.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, nursing and sociology.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of sport, exercise physiology, physical fitness and related disciplines.
Find more databases
- Library DatabasesUse the 'Databases by category' menu to access a list of recommended databases for your discipline. Alternatively, you can browse databases using the alphabetical list or use the search bar.