Database tutorials
Learn how to systematically search literature on Medline, CINAHL, Cochrane Library and Joanna Briggs Institute.
Search databases
Learn how to systematically conduct a CINAHL search using both Subject Headings & keywords
Learn how to systematically conduct a MEDLINE search using both MeSH Subject Headings & keywords.
- Online self-paced tutorialsProvide an introduction to the Cochrane Library and how to browse and search the Cochrane Library using Advanced Search, MeSH & using the Search Manager.
Learn how to search Joanna Briggs Institute. Includes information on the subject based nodes along with a review of the seven different publication types (including Best Practice Information Sheets, Evidence-Based Recommended Practices and Consumer Information Sheets) that can be used immediately to inform treatment and guide practice.
- Joanna Briggs Institute database tutorialsFurther online training
Search tips
- Consider differences in American English and Australian English spelling
- If a word is sometimes hyphenated, search using the hyphen and find both terms
- Truncation finds all words with different endings eg. use pregnant* to find pregnant, pregnancy, pregnancies
- Wildcard symbols find words spelt in different ways eg. organi?ation will find organisation and organization (Wildcard symbol can vary between databases)
- Double quotation marks keep words together as a phrase eg. "intensive care"
- Limits will refine your search results: language, human, gender, age, date or type of publication
- Check the database Help or Tips to find advice on which symbol to use for truncation or wildcard, and other helpful tips
- Health databasesVisit the health databases expert guide for more information on effective database searching
Can't find the full text of a journal article?
- Library SearchSelect the Journals tab and search for the journal title. Select "View online" to go to the full text or "Get it" for print journals and find the year, volume and issue you need.
- Document deliveryIf the library doesn't have access, use the Document Delivery Service to request copies and loans from other libraries.
Check if a journal is peer reviewed
Not sure if the article you have found is from a peer reviewed journal or not? Search for the journal title in Ulrichsweb, and look for the black and white striped referees jumper.
- UlrichswebDatabase of detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials/periodicals published internationally. Includes academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.