Clinical trials and practice guidelines

Provides reliable and up-to-date information and advice about clinical trials in Australia for the public, researchers and industry. For researchers, there is an overview of the legislative and regulatory environment and useful links.

An online registry of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia, New Zealand and elsewhere.

Includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources.

Contains thousands of currently enrolling trials. Information on drugs and new medical therapies are available to review. Also provides patients with health and educational resources about clinical trials and other health information.

U.S. NIH registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Contains information on interventional clinical trials on medicines in European Union (EU) member states and the European Economic Area (EEA) and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU/EEA if they form part of a paediatric investigation plan (PIP).

A primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.

Provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by various registries around the world.

National Health and Medical Research Council guidelines and publications, developed for use in Australian health care settings.

NHMRC regulations and governance of clinical trials. Includes research principles and guidelines for researchers in Australia.

Includes various sources of grey literature such as best practice guidelines, technical reports, consumer information sheets.

Many hospitals have their own practice guidelines. MyHospitals has a list of public (and some private) hospitals around Australia.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.