Where to search
Select databases
Finding evidence involves searching health databases.
During HLT1RAE you were introduced to two of these: CINAHL and MEDLINE. It's important to build confidence using these databases, as you will use them (plus others) throughout your studies.
As no one database contains all the available health literature, it is important to widen your search. Depending on your topic, consider the following:
Pre-appraised databases
Several databases provide assessments of original studies as well as access to systematic reviews which help summarise the results from a number of studies. This is referred to as secondary literature.
- Cochrane LibraryIncludes systematic review of the effects of health care treatments or interventions. The methodology used to create the Cochrane reviews is recognized as the gold standard for developing systematic reviews.
- OTseeker This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
- PEDroContains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and clinical practice guidelines relevant to Physiotherapy. Most trials have been rated using the PEDro Scale.
- SpeechBITEProvides access to intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Trials have been rated.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care tool that provides latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
Article databases
Contains original studies published in journals. Where available, searching these databases is more effective if you use a combination of keywords and subject headings (see 'Find evidence')
- MEDLINE (Ovid) 1946 - This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts from biomedicine also covers much of the literature in biology and biochemistry, as well as fields such as molecular evolution.
- Embase (Ovid)Major biomedical and pharmacological database.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, nursing and sociology.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of sport, exercise physiology, physical fitness and related disciplines.
Find more databases
- Library Search - databasesFor a list of all databases recommended for your subject, go to the databases tab and choose from the 'Databases by category' menu