Glossary
Evidence based practice glossary
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Oxford)Outlines some of the key terms that should be understood in relation to Evidence-Based practice.
- Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (Toronto)Glossary of terms
MEDLINE Glossary
- Explode - checkbox appears when choosing Subject Headings. Select the Explode box if you wish to retrieve results using the selected term and all of its more specific terms.
- Focus - checkbox appears when choosing Subject Headings. When selected, the database will only return articles in which the selected Subject Heading has been identified as the major point of the article. Use with care as you may miss out on relevant articles.
- "Find Full Text" button - checks the full-text availability of a given article within La Trobe University library. Follow the links to access the full-text document.
- Limits - specialized Subject Headings that help you filter out irrelevant results based on factors like age group, publication type, and publication date.
- Map Term to Subject Heading - checkbox appears on the main search page. When selected, it will suggest appropriate Subject Headings for the concepts entered into the search box. Medline uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Scope - displays information about indexed terms that can help you find other subjects for your search.
- Search History - tracks your recent searches and tells you how many results were returned for each term. Options available to save, print, email or export your results to a reference manager.
- Subheadings - associated terms that focus a search to a specific aspect of a subject heading.
- Subject Heading - used to describe the content of a given article. Your term or phrase within an alphabetically-arranged listing of subject headings that display in a hierarchical structure based upon the controlled vocabulary of the database. Medline uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Subject Tree - lets you view your term or phrase within a hierarchical structure of contexts based upon the controlled vocabulary of the database.
CINAHL Glossary
- Explode - checkbox appears when choosing Suggest Subject Terms. When selected, the headings are exploded to retrieve all references indexed to that term as well as all references indexed to any narrower subject terms.
- "Find Full Text" Button - checks the full-text availability of a given article within La Trobe University library. Follow the links to access the full-text document.
- Limits - lets you narrow the focus of your search by age group, publication type, publication date and more.
- Major Concept - checkbox appears when choosing Suggest Subject Terms. When selected you create a search query that finds only records for which the subject heading is a major point of the article. Use with care as you may miss out on relevant articles.
- My Folder: allows you to collect multiple records and save, cite, or export them simultaneously.
- Scope Note - displays information about indexed terms.
- Search History - tracks your recent searches and tells you how many results were returned for each term. Options available to save, print, email or export your results to a reference manager.
- Subject Tree - lets you view your term or phrase within a hierarchical structure of contexts based upon the controlled vocabulary of the database.
- Subject Term - used to describe the content of a given article. Your term or phrase sits within an alphabetically-arranged listing of subject headings that display in a hierarchical structure based upon the controlled vocabulary of the database. CINAHL uses both Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) & CINAHL Subject Headings.
- Suggest Subject Terms - checkbox appears on the main search page. When selected, it will suggest appropriate Subject Terms for the concepts entered into the search box.