Database tutorials
Database tutorials
Select 'Play' on image below to learn how to:
- create a PICO concept map
- conduct a comprehensive systematic search in Medline & CINAHL using both subject headings and keywords (learn more about systematic searching further down the page)
Table of Contents and Menu available once you commence the tutorial.
This type of searching is also applicable to Embase, PsycINFO & AMED although these databases may use different Subject Heading systems.
Further step-by-step instructions:
- Health Databases Library GuideCheck out the health databases guide for more information on effective searching
- Medline & CINAHL tutorialsIncludes various tutorials on the basics of searching OVID Medline & CINAHL. Includes how to search by subject headings & keywords (from McMaster University, home of Evidence Based Practice)
- Cochrane Training HubProvides access to quick training videos, user guides and webinars.
- PEDroFree database of over 49,000 trials, systematic reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions
- PEDro Evidence Based Practice tutorialsContains tutorials on PICO, trial validity and usefulness as well as the training tutorial for users who would like to help rate PEDro.
- Search helpStrongly recommended to use Advanced Search. For most searches a maximum of three search fields are sufficient.
- OTseekerContains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
Point of care resource designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.
Searching & navigating BMJ Best Practice
Search tips
- Use database limits to focus your search. Most will include language, gender, age, date or type of publication
- Check the database 'Help' or 'Tips' for further information
- Create a personal account and save your search
- Refine your search as you go. You may pick up further subject headings and keywords to use from other database
Structured (or systematic) searching
What is structured searching?
Structured searching, sometimes referred to as systematic searching, is an advanced method of searching within a database.
To search in this way, you use a combination of ‘subject headings’ and ‘keywords’.
Why search this way?
While this method of searching may seem more laborious, it’s important to conduct a thorough search of the literature in order to find the best available evidence for your patient or client.
What are subject headings & keywords?
The table below compares some of the differences between subject headings and keyword searching:
| Subject headings | Keywords |
|---|---|
|
A fixed list of terms that are arranged in a hierarchical structure and show the relationships between terms. These are referred to differently depending on the database e.g. Medline uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) terms. |
Natural language words that describe your topic. Keywords are used when searching Google. |
|
Provides consistency in the description of the content of the articles. |
Useful for searching for a specific term or phrase when there is not an appropriate subject heading. |
|
Do not need to think of synonyms for your topic. |
Useful for searching topics that use new concepts or terminology (subject headings take a while to be developed). |
| Less flexible to search by - need to know the exact controlled vocabulary term. | More flexible to search by - can combine together in many ways. |
| Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear. |
Database looks for keywords anywhere in the record. |
How to create accounts and save your search
- Saving seaches & alertsSave a search history or individual searches for later use or further refinement. Online tutorial also available:
Use your own personal area (folder) to collect, store and export results. All the items you save to your personal folder remain in your folder until you remove them.