Skip to Main Content

Databases

Search strategies

Library Search is a good place to start if you are new to your topic. You will be able to find relevant books and videos in our collection, as well as scholarly journal articles and news resources. 

Searching within a database for a particular discipline area will find research more targeted and relevant to your subject. Some general tips for database searching are:

  • Look beyond the first page of results (usually organised by date order)
  • Use more than one – different databases will give you different results
  • Use journal titles to help evaluate the relevance of an article

When you identify your keywords and phrases try to think of alternative words/phrases.  For example, television or TV or broadcasting. Also consider spelling variations (American and British) e.g. organization or organisation, globalisation or globalization.

Choose a variety of search terms and experiment with different combinations until the results are relevant to your topic.

  • Use quotation marks for phrases:  “language acquisition” will find all records containing these words as a phrase

  • Use OR to combine synonyms or related terms:  parents OR caregivers will find all records containing either of these words

  • Use AND to combine different keywords:  multicultural AND education will find all records containing these words anywhere 
     

  • Use NOT to exclude words:  apple NOT fruit will find records on apple but will focus on the technology company

  • A truncation symbol * finds alternate endings of words:  Austral*  will find Australia, Australian, Australiana

  • Use wildcards to compensate for different spellings:  wom?n  will retrieve women and woman   globali?ation  will retrieve globalisation and globalization

Symbols used for wildcards and truncation may vary, so use the help guide in each database to find out what is correct.

Many databases use a system of standardised subject terms (sometimes called descriptors or subject headings). Using these terms can help you find information you may otherwise have missed.

When you find a useful reference on a database, look at the full record for that reference to see if there are any descriptors or subject headings in the record. Searching by those terms may yield useful results.

Some databases include a thesaurus - this can be a useful place to ensure that you are using the most appropriate subject headings, and they often include notes which help you to understand the scope of the term.

Keyword searching can sometimes be difficult because the English language is rich in synonyms and there are many narrower or broader terms which might also be relevant. Citation searching or chaining is an alternative way of discovering resources.

Start with an article that is highly relevant to your research. Ask your lecturer or tutor for advice on this if you’re not sure. You can find related articles and resources either forwards or backwards in time from this key reference:

  • Backward chaining: check the article's bibliography or reference list to find citations of previously published resources referred to in this article. These will be older than your key reference.
  • Forward chaining: to discover more recently published resources which refer to this article, check the cited by or citations function if available, or look up the reference in Scopus, Web of Science or Google Scholar. These will be newer than your key reference.

It is important to keep up to date with new publications in your field.

Many databases allow you to set up alerts so you can store your searches on the database and have it run automatically at set intervals, with the results emailed to you.

You can also set up alerts from many journal websites to receive table of contents lists of new issues and publisher websites to receive new book notifications.

Databases

For a list of all databases recommended for your subject, go to the databases tab in Library Search, and follow the link to the databases guide. In this interface you can either choose from the subject area category on the left or type in a database name. 

Education databases screenshot

Your research topic will determine which database is appropriate, for example if you are researching aspects of  Australian education, you may wish to use AEI (Australian Education Index) and/or A+ Education.  Each database provides access to academic journals.

Examples of databases that cover educational topics include: 

Broader databases

Sometimes you may be researching a topic where including a database from another discipline may be helpful. For example, if you are researching the mental health of adolescents at school, you may wish to look under the Health - Psychology, Counselling and Therapy databases. If you are researching particular sports, check out the Health - Sport and Exercise Science databases. If Generative AI, check out  some of the databases under Technology - Computer Science and Information Technology. 

Each database on the guide has a brief overview of the key content that is covered. Some will be full-text, some will be indexing (with links to full-text via Find it at LaTrobe).  

Databases that are best for Citation searching (also called forwards & backwards chaining) include: