Statistics and research
Research Methods in Education
Statistics
Statistics
Statistics provide objective information on a range of topics and can be used to support decision making. They can be high level national data, or at the level of individual classes. Below are some useful starting points.
Australian
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) - EducationThis includes data on Australia wide student numbers, retention and participation in education, and higher education statistics.
- Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER)Statistics are contained in the research publications in the various collections on this page, which include: Early Childhood Education, Higher Education Research, The Longitudinal Survey of Australian Youth (LSAY), National and International Surveys.
- Department of Education - Higher Education StatisticsStatistics relating to the provision of higher education at all Australian institutions, including student numbers, student load, research activity and more.
- Department of Education and Training Statistics for Victorian SchoolsA range of statistical information on the Victorian public school system, including class sizes, student achievement figures, and demographic information.
Additional information includes Teacher supply & demand and expulsions. - National report on schooling in AustraliaPublished annually by ACARA, this report provides an overview of Australian schooling including key statistics and data sets. Also contains links to reports dating back to 1989.
International
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics - EducationFrom pre-primary to tertiary schooling, covering enrolment, educational attainment, equity and teacher information, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics.
- International Bureau of Education (IBE)The International Bureau of Education (IBE) is the UNESCO institute specialising in educational contents, methods and structures.
- OECD - Education - Online Education Database"Includes statistics on personnel, expenditure, foreign student enrollments, graduates by age and field of education, enrollment by type of institution and total population by sex and age."
- National Asessment Program (NAP)Managed by ACARA, the NAP includes annual NAPLAN and NAP Sample Assessments.
Research Methods
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods in EducationProvides "...a diverse overview of the wide variety of qualitative approaches to studying education, including ethnography, interviews, narrative, and case studies."
- Sage Research Methods OnlineExplore methods and concepts to design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, and write up findings, with links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content.
Research methods in education by Publication Date: 2018
Research for Educators by Publication Date: 2016
Educational Research by Publication Date: 2018
Research Associations
These organisations undertake targeted research into Educational topics.
- Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER)Research conducted into all stages of education.
- Centre for Evaluation and MonitoringEducational research and school assessments.
- British Educational Research associationPromotes and conducts educational research.
- National Foundation for Educational Research (UK)Publishes educational research in a number of journals.