International Law

International Law refers to laws between nations. The most well known International Legal bodies include the United Nations and the European Union.

Part VI of the AGLC covers citing International Law materials. 
 

Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) is a comprehensive database of Oxford international law titles. It includes Oxford Reports on International Law, the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law, Oxford Historical Treaties, and Oxford International Organizations.

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive, analytical resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. This authoritative reference work contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.

The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession.

The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection.

GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law it is an authoritative source for legal research.

Note: From the home page choose “International Law Research”.

The collection includes access to the reprint of The Harvard Research in International Law as well as Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal. It also includes links to law review articles from within the Law Journal Library that are written by the contributors to the Harvard Research in International Law.

At the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, scholars pursue research relating to basic issues and current developments in the areas of public international law, European Union law, and the constitutional and administrative law of individual states. 

Citation rules for international cases are contained in rules 10 (International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice), 11 (international arbitral and tribunal decisions) and 12 (international criminal tribunals and courts) of the AGLC.

International Law Reports is the only publication in the world wholly devoted to the regular and systematic reporting in English of decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts. Cases are drawn from every relevant jurisdiction - international and national. 

Oxford Reports on International Law provides decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals.

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions.

This database indexes journals from various foreign countries.

This contains law journals from many foreign and international jurisdictions. Note: You must choose the International Content filter, under Jurisdiction/court dropdown search box.
 

The courses focus on areas in public international law, human rights, humanitarian law and international relations. Its annual publication program consists of journals, annuals and new book titles. 

Law PORT is a collection of free-to-use training resources from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London. There are tutorials in this collection on customary international law, treaties and International conventions and judicial decisions in international law. 

To access: 

• click on your chosen tutorial, then
• click on the Yellow box icon to get to the module.