Treaties

To cite treaties, whether Australian or beyond Australia, see rule 8 of the AGLC.

This is a brief explanation of treaties and the treaty making process.

The Australian Treaties Library is a fully searchable resource that includes treaty texts (Australian Treaty Series), indexes, status lists, and explanatory material. It was developed and is maintained by the Australasian Legal Information Institute.

Australian Treaty Series organised by year and searchable by keyword.

The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) is a publication produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945. You can search by keyword, volume or title. 

The League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) records treaties registered with and published by the Secretariat of the League of Nations.

This database brings together treaty series from across the world via the Legal Information Institute network. The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility developed collaboratively by a number of Legal Information Institutes and Law Faculties around the world.

A developing resource which is still being complied but once fully complete, the World Treaty Index will feature every known international agreement in the 20th Century, including thousands agreements entered into by hundreds of countries and international organizations. The search feature allows for topic searching as well as by title, headnote, laterality (bilateral, multilateral or unilateral), and the date the treaty was signed.

This collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into a fully searchable database. Search a comprehensive treaty index by keywords, title, parties, sign date or citation. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.
Search tips:

• Title is the popular name/short title. For full title searches, use the description field.
• To search by citation, put the citation in quotes. For example "16 UNTS 203"
• Signing Dates should be of the following format: YYYY-MM-DD. For example 1815-04-05