Community histories
Access local community archives for Bundoora, Bendigo, Shepparton, Mildura and Albury-Wodonga regions, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) community archives and other community archives.
Community-based histories of place
See below for some local examples:
- WikinorthiaWikiNorthia is a community website designed to create a snapshot of past and present life in the Northern suburbs of Melbourne and document the rich cultural histories and diverse community stories from across five municipalities: Darebin, Moreland, Whittlesea, Nillumbik and Banyule.
- Darebin heritageLocal history through a series of articles researched, authored and managed by Darebin Libraries.
- Bendigo Regional Archives CentreIncluding records related to Petitions 1870-1899, WWI Resource Kit, and W.C. Vahland.
- Royal Historical Society of Victoria online collectionThe RHSV Online Catalogue currently contains 39,500 records.
- This Place Matters Australia (National Trust Historypin collection)Crowd-sourced local stories, photos, videos and audio clips that celebrate the places that matter.
- Citizen HeritageThis Australian Research Council project investigates digital and community-based histories of place and is a good gateway to local sources and stories. Information on the project sits on the University of Melbourne, School of Design website.
Victorian Collections
Victorian Collections facilitates access to the collections of a large number of often quite small Victorian community organisations, historical societies, and cultural heritage institutions. It is new and quickly growing and evolving.
Examples of organisations include: Australian Multicultural Community Services, Queen Victoria Women's Centre, Australian National Surfing Museum, Ballarat Base Hospital Trained Nurses League, and the Darebin Parklands Association.
- Access the collectionSearch or browse from the home page.
- List of Victorian Collections organisationsUse this list if there is a specific organisation's collection you are interested in exploring. You can also browse the collection by location.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) archives
The Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives (established in 1978) is the biggest repository of historical materials about lesbian and gay experience in Australia and the most prominent research centre for gay, lesbian, bisexual and trans* history in Australia.
- Australian Queer ArchivesExplore the collection before organising to visit.
- Victorian CollectionsMany items from AQuA relevant to Victoria have been digitised and are available through Victorian Collections.
- ISSUUCurated online collections on specific topics from AQuA are available as "scrapbooks" here.
Other LGBTIQ community history projects:
- Sydney's Pride History GroupA community history group which collects information about Sydney's LGBTIQ past. Includes many oral histories.
- Archives of human sexuality and identity: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940Among many other resources, you’ll find particularly helpful Australian and New Zealand publications such as Gayzette, GLP! A journal of sexual politics, and Pink Triangle and material from ACT UP.
- Out of the Closets, Into the StreetsCulture Victoria project documenting the beginning of the Gay Liberation Movement in Melbourne.
- Daylesford StoriesAnother Culture Victoria project featuring two short films, individual profiles and image galleries about the regional Victorian town of Daylesford. Explore how identity shapes us and how support and understanding can build community.
- National Film and Sound Archive - Gaywaves collectionAccess audio records from Gaywaves was Sydney’s first gay and lesbian radio program. It was considered groundbreaking when it went to air in November 1979, at a time when homosexuality was still illegal in New South Wales.
Other community archives
- Australian Trade Union ArchivesA gateway providing historical detail, archival resources, published material and information about Australian industrial organisations.
- Reason in Revolt: Source documents of Australian radicalismAn expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society.
- Bohemian MelbourneAn online exhibition by the State Library of Victoria that highlights Melbourne's bohemian history.
- Jane street exhibitionAccess a series of archival photographic displays and digital galleries from the Jane Street Theatre and the Jane Street Season of Plays created by and from the National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA) Archives.
- The Pram Factory (Australian Performing Group)Access archival material, photographs, and posters from and about the Australian Performing Group. The original site was archived in 2018.
- Jessie Street National Women's LibraryWhile not a lot is available online yet, it is useful to learn about this organisation and it's role in collecting, preserving and promoting the awareness of the cultural heritage of Australian women, facilitating learning, research and communication.