Curriculum collections
Curriculum collection locations
All campus libraries have collections of curriculum and children's resources to support ITE students. Extensive collections are held at:
- Albury-Wodonga Campus Library, Level 1. The collection is called the Curriculum Resources Collection.
- Bendigo Campus Library, Level 2. The collection is called the Learning Resources Collection (LRC).
- Bundoora Campus Library, Level 3. The collection is called the Education Collection (EC).
To limit your search to physical items in your local collection, undertake your search (see hints below) and then narrow your results to Location = relevant Campus collection (left hand side).
Resources
Picture books are located in many of our campus libraries. Picture books provide the opportunity to educate in an entertaining and visual way and many are specifically aimed at younger children. Search Library search, using a search term and juvenile fiction, for example:
- counting juvenile fiction
- fractions juvenile fiction
- sharing juvenile fiction
At the Bendigo library you can also consult A to Zoo:subject access to children's picture books in the reference section.
Here are examples of picture books that can be used to teach different concepts:
-
365 Penguins
by
On the first day of the new year, the mailman brings a surprise - a penguin! One by one, day by day, penguins fill the house. At first they are cute, but with every passing day, the penguins pile up, along with the family's problems. Feeding, cleaning, and housing the penguins becomes a monumental task! But who is sending these penguins, and why? -
How Did You Count?
by
From the author of the award-winning Which One Doesn't Belong? and How Many? comes How Did You Count?, the latest title in Christopher Danielson's collection that is sure to spark conversation, questioning and wondering amongst both younger and older students alike. -
Open your heart to Country
by
Told in English and Darug, Open Your Heart to Country is a moving account of reconnection to Country from a First Nations perspective. Sharing the nourishing power of returning home and being immersed in the language of Country, this picture book invites readers to reflect on the importance of place, not only for First Nations' peoples but for everyone. -
The Stone Lion
by
Sometimes statues are granted a chance to become warm, breathing creatures. The stone lion has only one dream--to run, pounce, and leap in the park across from where he sits. But one snowy night, when a baby is abandoned at his paws, he is compelled to think differently. This heartwarming and inspiring tale, with stunning Depression-era illustrations by Ritva Voutila, demonstrates the power of kindness and its profound ability to change lives. -
The Truck Cat
by
The Truck Cat is a story about cats and humans, immigration and identity, and homes lost and found. With illustrations by multi-award-winning artist Danny Snell and words by acclaimed new writer Deborah Frenkel, the Truck Cat is the perfect book to inspire kindness and compassion in young children everywhere.
A small number of Educational aids are located in our campus libraries. These aids can assist in capturing the interest of students and explaining concepts in a tangible way.
Search Library search, using a search term and aids and devices and then limiting to Physical items in your local Library. For example:
- science aids and devices
- mathematics aids and devices
The library has a small collection of juvenile non-fiction on a range of topics in our Children's collections.
Search Library search, using a search term and juvenile literature, for example:
- feelings juvenile literature
- Aboriginal Australians juvenile literature
- science juvenile literature
Then filter to the specific collection.
Here are some examples of titles in our collection.
-
Come together : things every Aussie kid should know about the First Peoples
by
Publication Date: 2022In this book, Isaiah, a Yorta Yorta and Gunditjmara man, establishes a foundation of First Nations knowledge with 20 key topics and connects us to each topic through his own personal story and culture, from the importance of Elders to the Dreaming. -
The First Scientists
by
Australia's First peoples have the longest continuing culture on earth and their innovation will amaze you... with six main chapters covering astronomy, engineering, forensic science, chemistry, land management and ecology. The first scientists passed on the lessons of the land, sea and sky to the future scientists of today through stories, song and dance, and many of these lessons are now shared in this book. -
My Blob Feelings Workbook
by
My Blob Feelings Workbook provides the reader with a series of unique visual reflective exercises that help to reveal one's own emotional portrait. Using a combination of Blob characters and open questions, the reader can gradually build up an image of themselves across a wide range of 'who I am' subjects and real-life scenarios. Packed with well-loved blob illustrations, this book includes a wealth of downloadable pages and will enable the individual to 'draw' a picture of themselves emotionally through the series of exercises. -
You under the Microscope
by
You Under the Microscope explores the unseen and unusual microscopic processes happening around us--and on us, and inside us!--every day. Fun, colorful, and ingeniously illustrated, this book highlights the far out and fabulous things happening under, on, and occasionally up our noses.
